T20 World Cup Final: New Zealand batsman Devon Conway ruled out with broken right hand
New Zealand squad received a jolt ahead of the World Cup final against Australia as batsman Devon Conway has been ruled out with a broken right hand.
He will not tour India as well, confirmed New Zealand Cricket.
Conway sustained the injury when he struck his bat immediately after being dismissed in last night’s semi-final win over England in Abu Dhabi - with an X-ray today confirming a break to his right hand fifth Metacarpal, the cricket board said in a statement.
Coach Gary Stead said: "He’s absolutely gutted to be ruled out like this at this time."
Devon Conway has been ruled out of the @T20WorldCup Final and following tour to India with a broken right hand. Conway sustained the injury when he struck his bat immediately after being dismissed in last night’s semi-final. More Info | https://t.co/LCMOTJqmqc #T20WorldCup pic.twitter.com/JIm9o6Rhxe— BLACKCAPS (@BLACKCAPS) November 11, 2021
Australia on Thursday night defeated Pakistan to book their seat in the final.