June 21, 2024 14:12 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Renukaswamy murder: Darshan Thoogudeepa borrowed Rs. 40 lakh from friend, paid other accused to destroy evidence, say cops | Liquor policy case: Delhi HC stays Arvind Kejriwal's bail till ED plea hearing | Narendra Modi leads nation in observing 10th International Day of Yoga, participates in main event in Srinagar | Pune woman hangs from building edge holding a man's hand just for an Instagram reel. Read here | BJP's Bhartruhari Mahtab appointed Pro Tem Speaker, Congress calls it 'first mistake'
West Bengal Bridge Association to introduce weekly league for Pairs and Team events
West Bengal Bridge
Image: pixabay

West Bengal Bridge Association to introduce weekly league for Pairs and Team events

| @indiablooms | 09 Oct 2021, 06:11 pm

Kolkata: For the first time, West Bengal Bridge Association (WBBA) with noted bridge enthusiast and Managing Director of Shree Cement H M Bangur as its patron, will  introduce a weekly league for Pairs and Team events of bridge in West Bengal, newly elected secretary of WBBA Debasish Ray informed Friday.

Ray, who was the captain of Indian Bridge team that won the gold and the bronze in the last Asian Games at Djakarta, Indonesia,  said that to uplift the standard of this mind game and popularise it further,  WBBA will also organise annual inter college- cum junior state champiuonship beside hosting regular training and coaching camps in Kolkata and other districts of West Bengal.

He further informed that the committee was now be planning the modalities of hosting these events and the venues and dates would be anounced as soon as it is finalised.

Ray, who represented the country in different international bridge tournaments including World Championship, was elected unanomously at its annual general meeting held in the city on Tuesday.

Other members of the committee who were also elected unanimously are:

President : Vivhas Todi

Vice Presidents : Sabyasachi Sen, IAS, Ajay Bagaria, Partha Sarathi Mukherjee, Sanjoy Bhattacharjee and Pradeep Goenka.

Treasurer: Suman Sengupta.

Asst. Secretaries : Sourndra Coomar Dutta, Arnab Guha and Saila Ranjan Das.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.