September 21, 2021 14:55 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Canada: Justin Trudeau's Liberal Party wins snap poll gamble but misses majority | India registers 26,115 new COVID-19 cases in past 24 hours, active cases lowest in six months | Top religious body head Narendra Giri dies by suicide: UP Police | US to lift travel bans for fully vaccinated air passengers from November | India to resume vaccine export and donations from next month
T20I: Dhawan's India beat Sri Lanka by 38 runs, take 1-0 series lead India Sri Lanka
BCCI Twitter page

T20I: Dhawan's India beat Sri Lanka by 38 runs, take 1-0 series lead

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 26 Jul 2021, 09:22 am

Colombo/UNI: India produced a clinical performance to beat Sri Lanka by 38 runs in 1st T20I and take 1-0 lead in the 3-match series, here on Sunday.

Suryakumar Yadav top-scored for India with 50 off 34 balls while skipper Shikhar Dhawan made 46 off 36 as India posted a total of 164/5 in 20 overs.

Ishan Kishan (20 not out off 14 balls), and Sanju Samson (27 off 20 balls) were the other notable contributors for India.

In reply, Sri Lanka were all out for 126 in 18.3 overs courtesy excellent bowling in the death overs by Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Deepak Chahar.

Charith Asalanka was the top-scorer for Sri Lanka with 44 off 26 balls. He had kept his team in the hunt till the time he was at the crease but Chahar put the target beyond Lanka's reach by removing the set batsman in the 16th over to tilt the win in India's favour.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar ended up as the pick of the bowlers with 4 wickets for 22 runs from his 3.3 overs while Chahar picked a couple. Yuzvendra Chahal, debutant Varun Chakravarthy, Krunal and Hardik Pandya also chipped in with a wicket each.

The second match of the series will be played at the same venue on July 27.

Brief scores: India 164/5 in 20 overs (Suryakumar Yadav 50, Shikhar Dhawan 46; Wanindu Hasaranga 2/28, Dushmantha Chameera 2/24).

Sri Lanka 126 all out in 18.3 overs (Charith Asalanka 44; Yuzvendra Chahal 1/19; Deepak Chahar 2/24, Bhuvneshwar Kumar 4/22).