June 17, 2024 07:24 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
After his 'Lord Ram' taunt on BJP creates uproar, RSS leader makes a U-turn | NDA govt formed by mistake, can fall anytime: Congress chief Mallikarjun Kharge's claim | PM Modi returns to India after 'successful completion of G7 Outreach Summit' in Italy | Delhi LG approves prosecution of Arundhati Roy, Sheikh Showkat Hussain in 2010 provocative speech case | BS Yediyurappa, accused of harassing minor, can't be arrested till next hearing: Karnataka HC
Shubman Gill selected in Indian squad for WTC final against New Zealand
BCCI Twitter page

Shubman Gill selected in Indian squad for WTC final against New Zealand

| @indiablooms | 17 Jun 2021, 08:34 pm

Southampton: Shubman Gill was named in final Indian squad that will play against New Zealand in the first World Test Championship here on Friday.

The squad was announced on Thursday.

The batting department will be guided by skipper Virat Kohli, along with Rohit Sharma, Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane.

Rishabh Pant, who played a dependable role in the Test series against Australia and then England, selected ahead of experienced Wriddhiman Saha.

He is expected to give depth to the batting lineup.

Ravindra Jadeja and R Ashwin are the two spinners named in the squad and they are expected to add some handy runs with their willows if needed.

Ishant Sharma, Shami and Jasprit Bumra will take guard of the pace department in the crucial clash of the year.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.