October 20, 2021 21:33 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Priyanka Gandhi Vadra allowed to visit family of UP man who died in police custody | Drug case: Aryan Khan's bail rejected | Crops destroyed due to rains: Delhi announces Rs. 50,000 per hectare of farmland compensation to farmers | Kashmir: 2 militants and a soldier killed in Shopian gunfight | SC asks UP govt to stop dragging its feet in Lakhimpur violence case
New Zealand Cricket confirms squad for World Test Championship final against India New Zealand
ICC website

New Zealand Cricket confirms squad for World Test Championship final against India

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 15 Jun 2021, 05:37 pm

London: The New Zealand Cricket on Tuesday announced the squad for the upcoming World Test Championship final clash against India which will be played in Southampton from June 18 to 22.

Ajaz Patel has been selected as the specialist spinner, with Colin de Grandhomme the all-rounder and Will Young the specialist batting cover, while Tom Blundell is the back-up wicket-keeper, New Zealand Cricket said in a statement.

Doug Bracewell, Jacob Duffy, Daryl Mitchell, Rachin Ravindra and Mitchell Santner are the five players who will drop out from the original 20-player touring squad for the England Test series.

Coach Gary Stead noted the contributions of the departing group and thanked them for their efforts over the past month.

“It’s not easy to say goodbye to guys who have given so much to the group," the coach said.

Commenting on the squad selections, Stead said: "There’s had to be some tough calls with Mitchell and Daryl victims of the fierce competition we currently have for places in the Test side."

BLACKCAPS Test squad

Kane Williamson (c)
Tom Blundell
Trent Boult
Devon Conway
Colin de Grandhomme
Matt Henry
Kyle Jamieson
Tom Latham
Henry Nicholls
Ajaz Patel
Tim Southee
Ross Taylor
Neil Wagner
BJ Watling
Will Young

Daryl Mitchell (Middlesex) and Doug Bracewell (Nottinghamshire) will remain in England to play in the Vitality T20 Blast.