April 13, 2021 13:09 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
India surpasses Brazil with 1.35 crore overall cases of Covid-19 | Kerala's vaccine stocks will last only three more days: CM Pinarayi Vijayan writes to Centre | Haryana govt imposes night curfew amid steep rise in Covid cases | Bengal polls: ECI bans Mamata Banerjee from campaigning for 24 hours starting 8 pm tonight | Sushil Chandra to take over as new Chief Election Commissioner from tomorrow
Young India defeat Australia in Brisbane to clinch Border-Gavaskar Trophy India Creates History
The Indian team celebrating their win at The Gabba (Image Credit: BCCI Twitter)

Young India defeat Australia in Brisbane to clinch Border-Gavaskar Trophy

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 19 Jan 2021, 02:56 pm

Brisbane/IBNS: A young Indian team, powered by Shubman Gill, Rishabh Pant, Washington Sundar and others, defeated Australia by three wickets in the fourth Test at The Gabba on Tuesday.

With the win, India clinched the Border-Gavaskar Trophy by 2-1.

Chasing a target of 328, India in the second innings scored 329/7.

After Shubman Gill started the fight with a 91-run knock, the Indian innings was pulled by Cheteshwar Pujara (56 off 211 balls) and Rishabh Pant, who remained unbeaten at 89.

Debutant Washington Sundar also gave company to Pant with his 22-run cameo in the run chase.

Australian pace bowler Pat Cummins clinched four Indian wickets conceding 55 runs in 24 overs.

In the first innings, India scored 336 all out in response to Australia's 369.

India's first innings total was greatly helped by Sundar's 62 and Shardul Thakur's 67.

In the second innings, the Indian bowlers bowled out Australia for 294 in 75.5 overs.

This is the second consecutive Border-Gavaskar Trophy win by India. Also Ajinkya Rahane's team demolished Australia's record of remaining unbeaten at The Gabba for over 30 years.

Congratulating the Indian team, Prime Minister Narendra Modi tweeted, "We are all overjoyed at the success of the Indian Cricket Team in Australia. Their remarkable energy and passion was visible throughout. So was their stellar intent, remarkable grit and determination. Congratulations to the team! Best wishes for your future endeavours."

The Indian cricket board has announced a Rs. five crore bonus for the national team.

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) president Sourav Ganguly tweeted, "Just a remarkable win...To go to Australia and win a test series in this way ..will be remembered in the history of indian cricket forever ..Bcci announces a 5 cr bonus for the team ..The value of this win is beyond any number ..well done to every member of the touring party.."