January 26, 2021 04:26 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Shinzo Abe, SP Balasubrahmanyam and 5 others awarded Padma Vibhushan this year | Netaji's Rashtrapati Bhawan portrait sparks row; TMC MP deletes tweet after claiming it resembles actor Prosenjit | Govt remains singularly devoted to farmers’ welfare, says Prez Kovind in address to nation | Groping without skin-to-skin contact not sexual assault: Bombay HC | Indian, Chinese soldiers clash in Sikkim's Naku La, injuries reported on both sides
SCG: Australian skipper Tim Paine apologises for his conduct during third Test Tim Paine

SCG: Australian skipper Tim Paine apologises for his conduct during third Test

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 12 Jan 2021, 09:42 am

Sydney: Australia skipper Tim Paine on Tuesday apologised for his on-field conduct during the third Test against Australia where he was caught on stump microphone launching verbal volleys at spinner R Ashwin.

Indian batsmen put up an inspirational show as they helped the side draw the third Test against Australia.

The series is leveled 1-1.

The final Test match of the series will be played in Gabba from Jan 15.

"I'm someone who prides themselves on the way I lead this team and yesterday was a poor reflection," Paine was quoted as saying to reporters by Cricket Australia website.

"My leadership wasn't good enough, I let the pressure of the game get to me," he said.

"It affected my mood and then from there affected my performance," the cricketer said.

"I said to our players yesterday 'I've had a really poor game as a leader," he said.

"I let our group down. I'm human, I want to apologise for the mistakes that I made," he said.

Paine, who has helped turn around the Australian Test team's image after the Cape Town cheating scandal, is confident the SCG would be a "blip on the radar" rather than a sign of things to come at the Gabba.

Vodafone Test Series v India 2020-21

Australia Test squad: Tim Paine (c), Sean Abbott, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Will Pucovski, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner

India Test squad: Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Rishabh Pant (wk), Jasprit Bumrah, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, T Natarajan