January 27, 2021 08:55 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Additional security forces in Delhi after farmers' protest turns violent | TMC MLA Prabir Ghoshal resigns from party posts after being show caused for his alleged 'anti-party' statements | Farmers' tractor rally turns violent in Delhi, one protester dies | Farmers' tractor rally meets chaos in Delhi border on India's Republic Day | Republic Day: PM Modi pays homage at National War Memorial
New Zealand beat India by five wickets to complete 3-0 series win 
BCCI Twitter page

New Zealand beat India by five wickets to complete 3-0 series win 

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 11 Feb 2020, 10:07 am

Mount Maunganui/IBNS: New Zealand choked India to a whitewash series win in the ODIs as the Kiwis beat the 'Men In Blue' by five wickets in the final match of the clash here on Tuesday.

New Zealand took sweet revenge on the T20 series by beating India in the final match of the series where Virat Kohli and his men were first restricted to 296 for the seven wickets. The Kiwis then reached the winning target of 300 runs by losing five wickets with 2.5 overs to spare.

New Zealand completed their 3-0 sweep against India in the series.

India had defeated New Zealand 5-0 in the T20 series earlier in their tour.

Chasing 297 for victory, New Zealand batsmen remained focused as all their top batsmen contributed with their willows.

Guptill (66),  Nicholls (80), Kane Williamson (22) and Grandhomme (58*) contributed with their bats which helped the home side reach the winning target easily at the end.

Bumrah failed to pick up a single wicket in the innings which stood as one trouble factor for the Indian team.

Chahal picked up three.

KL Rahul's century powered India to post 296/7 in 50 overs in the third and final One Day International (ODI) match against New Zealand here on Tuesday.

Rahul scored 112 off 113 balls. It was his fourth ODI hundred.

Apart from Rahul, Shreyas Iyer scored 62 off 63 balls.

Manish Pandey and Prithvi Shaw scored 42 and 40 respectively.

Hamish Bennett picked four wickets for New Zealand.