October 22, 2020 12:08 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Maharashtra government withdraws general consent to CBI in probing cases | India adds close to 56,000 Covid-19 cases in 24 hours, tally touches 77.06 lakh | Former Maharashtra minister Eknath Khadse quits BJP, set to join NCP | 15 killed in stampede near Pakistan consulate in eastern Afghanistan | Pakistan: Explosion in Karachi's Gulshan-i-Iqbal area leaves 3 dead, 15 injured
India opt to field first against Sri Lanka, rain delays start 
BCCI Twitter page

India opt to field first against Sri Lanka, rain delays start 

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 05 Jan 2020, 02:09 pm

Guwahati/UNI: India won the toss and elected to field first against Sri Lanka in the first T20I of the three-match series at Barsapara Cricket Stadium, here on Sunday.

After the toss, India skipper Virat Kohli said," Looking from past records it appears that chasing will be a good option....the ground is small and in the second innings dew will be a factor”.

On the other hand, Sri Lankan skipper Lasith Malinga said, "We would won’t min batting first, hopeful to put a big score".

Meanwhile, there will be a delay in the match as it's drizzling in Guwahati. It had rained here in the morning but the weather was clear in the evening.

According to weather forecast the maximum this rain should persist is 1 hour so still there is a possibility of match with 1.30 hrs of delay.

This is India's first match in the New Year 2020. Shikar Dhawan made his place in the playing eleven in absence of opener Rohit Sharma, while Angelo Mathews the hard hitting finisher of Sri Lanka is back in the squad.

Earlier, in a pre-match press conference on Saturday, Indian captain Virat Kohli had said that he expects the game to be high scoring one and it will test the fighting ability of bowlers in a batsman friendly wicket.

India played its last 50 over match here in the same venue against West Indies which was a high scoring game which the Men in Blue won with considerable ease.

Playing XI:

Sri Lanka : Danushka Gunathilaka, Avishka Fernando, Kusal Perera(w), Oshada Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka, Isuru Udana, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lahiru Kumara, Lasith Malinga (c)

India : Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Virat Kohli (c), Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant(w), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini, Jasprit Bumrah