August 13, 2022 18:48 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Sourav Ganguly to lead Indian team in 75th Independence special match. Know more | MS Dhoni has to retire first to participate in overseas league: BCCI | Congress president Sonia Gandhi tests Covid-19 positive again | India at 75: Amit Shah hoists tricolour at home | Jammu and Kashmir govt sacks Salah-ud-Din's son, Bitta Karate's wife, two others over terror links
Michael Vaughan feels only India can challenge Australia on its soil

Michael Vaughan feels only India can challenge Australia on its soil

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 02 Dec 2019, 11:04 am

London/IBNS: Former England captain Michael Vaughan feels that only Indian cricket team can give a challenge to Australia on its soil at the current stage.

"This Australian Team in these conditions are going to take some beating ... Only @BCCI  #India have the tools to do so at this stage imo ... #AUSvPAK," Vaughan tweeted.

Maintaining its dominant form, Australia completed series whitewash against Pakistan on Monday after thrashing the Azhar Ali-led visitors by an innings and 48 runs.

Australia have moved to a total of 176 points and are in second position in the ICC World Test Championship table after grabbing a full 120 points against Pakistan with a 2-0 series win.

Australia went into the two-Test series with 56 points carried over from their five-match series against England, which had ended in a 2-2 draw. The two comprehensive wins in Brisbane and Adelaide though have fortified their position in the nine-team championship.

Pakistan could not get any points in their opening series, but will get a chance to change that in home conditions against Sri Lanka when they play a two-Test series from 11 December in Rawalpindi and Karachi.

Each series of the WTC is worth 120 points, distributed evenly over the number of matches in a series. The points range from 60 points for each match of a two-Test series to 24 for each match of a five-Test series.

India are strongly placed at the top of the table with 360 points from three series – against the West Indies, South Africa and Bangladesh, who are all yet to get any points. Sri Lanka and New Zealand are on 60 points each after drawing their two-match series 1-1.

The top two teams at the end of the league will play the final in the UK in June 2021 with the winners crowned the World Test Champions.

Image: ICC website