July 20, 2024 13:03 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
ED arrests Haryana Congress MLA Surender Panwar in illegal mining case | Over 300 Indian students return home as 105 killed in Bangladesh unrest | NEET-UG 2024 retest to be held only if sanctity is lost due to paperleak on large scale: Supreme Court | Avoid travel and minimize movement: India's advisory to its nationals in Bangladesh amid Jatrabari violence | No systemic failure: NTA to Supreme Court on NEET-UG 2024 paper leak
Ex-Indian skipper Sourav Ganguly re-elected as CAB president unopposed

Ex-Indian skipper Sourav Ganguly re-elected as CAB president unopposed

| @indiablooms | 27 Sep 2019, 11:45 am

Kolkata, Sep 27 (UNI) Sourav Ganguly has been re-elected the Cricket Association of Bengal's president unopposed, his second successive tenure since 2015, ahead of the CAB's 85th AGM on Saturday.

Besides him, his five-member panel was also declared winners uncontested with the announcement of CAB appointed electoral officer Susanta Ranjan Upadhaya to this effect.

Former India skipper Ganguly, however, will remain the CAB's president till July 2020 before entering a ‘cooling off period’ as per the BCCI constitution. He will have to undergo the mandatory three-year- cooling off period after completing six years in office at a go in 2020.

This will be Ganguly's second term at the CAB's top post when he became president after the demise of then top man Jagmohan Dalmiya.

Before elevating to the top post in 2015, Ganguly was the joint-secretary in 2014.

Dalmiya’s son Avishek has been elected uncontested to the post of secretary from the joint secretary’s post, while Debabrata Das of Town Club will be lone joint secretary.

Upadhaya said, “I, Electoral Officer of The Cricket Association of Bengal do hereby declare and certify that the following persons have stood uncontested to the following Posts.”

The office-bearers: Sourav Ganguly (president), Naresh Ojha (vice-president), Avishek Dalmiya (secretary), Debabrata Das (joint secretary) and Debasish Ganguly (treasurer).

Apex council: Ardhendu Kumar Ghosh, Rajib Ghosh, Samrat Bhowmick, Sanjoy Dutta, Subrata Saha, Goutam Goswami, Joydeep Kolay, Mintu Das, Numazar Mehta, Prabir Chakrabarty, and Susanta Banerjee.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.