October 24, 2021 01:37 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Lakhimpur Kheri violence: Three more arrested, say sources | Amit Shah's Mission Kashmir begins with visit to slain cop’s family | Tamil film Koozhangal India's official entry into Oscars 2022 | India records 16,326 new COVID-19 cases in past 24 hours | Mamata Banerjee calls upon individuals, organisations, political parties to join forces to defeat BJP
India to start World Test Championship against West Indies on Aug 22

India to start World Test Championship against West Indies on Aug 22

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 13 Jun 2019, 08:51 am

Saint John's, Jun 13 (UNI): West Indies Cricket Board has announced the schedule for India's tour to the US and the West Indies, starting August 3.

India will play a three-match T20I series, three-match ODI and two-match Test series on their month-long tour, the Board's official website said on Wednesday.

India will also kick-start their much-anticipated World Test Championship 2019-2021 campaign with a two-Test series against West Indies in Antigua under the captaincy of Virat Kohli, starting August 22.

The Vivian Richards Cricket Ground in Antigua will host the opening Test, while the second Test will be played at Sabina Park in Jamaica from August 3.

The ICC World Test Championship has been introduced by the ICC to give greater context to the Test cricket and will be played over the next two years.

It will feature nine of the 12 Test-playing nations, each of whom will play a Test series against six of the other eight teams.

'The West Indies and India have a long and colourful rivalry, and the MyTeam11 Series will bring more thrilling competition across every format of the game' said Cricket West Indies CEO Johnny Grave.

"We’ll be seeing some of the World's best players go head to head in T20Is, ODIs and then in the new World Test Championship. West Indies fans, young and old, will have the opportunity to see some incredible cricket," he added.

Full schedule :

T20I series-

All matches start at 10:30 AM local time

1st T20I in Florida, USA - August 3

2nd T20I in Florida, USA - August 4

3rd T20I in Guyana - August 6

ODI series-

All matches start at 9:30 AM local time

1st ODI in Guyana - August 8

2nd ODI in Trinidad - August 11

3rd ODI in Trinidad - August 14

Test series-

All matches start at 9:30 AM local time

1st Test in Antigua - August 22 to 26

2nd Test in Jamaica - August 30 to September 3