July 10, 2020 02:29 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Amid COVID-19 cases spike, UP govt announces lockdown from Friday night till Monday morning | West Bengal's COVID-19 tally nears 26000-mark with highest single-day spike of 1088 cases | Cabinet passes extending PM Garib Kalyan Anna Yojana till November | West Bengal COVID-19 Lockdown: German Consulate says it will restrict office presence to the lowest | 'Communist China terrorist': Tibetan cycle rally against Beijing cheers for India

Read our ultimate guide to find the best Indian online casino 2020! We help Indian players choose top online casinos based on several criterial such as withdraw options, promotions and selection of casino games!


Kolkata to witness celebrities' cricket league

India Blooms News Service | | 12 Oct 2015, 11:40 pm
Kolkata, Oct 12 (IBNS): Blue Horizon Sports and Entertainment Ltd., which organizes competitive sports events featuring top celebrities of Bengali film and TV industry, officially launched the first edition of Bengal Celebrity League (BCL) on Sunday in Kolkata.

Director of Blue Horizon Sports and Entertainment, actor Jishu Sengupta, actor Dev, Prasenjit Chatterjee, Abir Chatterjee, Parambrata Chatterjee and director Shoojit Sircar were present at the inaugural event at The Park hotel in Kolkata.

Jishu Sengupta said, "Cricket is my favourite game. One and half years ago, me and my wife Nilanjana Sengupta had started planning to organize such tournament. I was amazed by the support I received from my colleagues in the industry as almost everybody, without any persuasion, readily agreed to be part of the tournament. All the 26 guilds of film and TV industry have extended their hands for BCL. West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee and Housing and interim Sports Minister Arup Biswas also helped us a lot to organize the BCL."

Six teams consist of 8 actors and 3 technicians will take part in the BCL which will be played in T-20 format. The tournament will start on Dec 26 and end on Jan 10 in next year. The matches will be played in Kishore Bharati Krinangan near Jadavpur in south Kolkata.

Beside the BCL's logo, theme song and official website, six teams' logos and jerseys were also launched in the event.

Composer Bikram Ghosh composed and sang the theme music of the BCL and lyricist Srijato wrote it.

Actor Prasenjit Chatterjee, Dev, film director Shoojit Sircar, film producer Arijit Dutta, Shyam Sundar Dey and Kaustav Roy were also present there as the owners of six BCL teams- Purulia Panthers, Midnapore Mighties, Hooghly Heroes, Jalpaiguri Royals, Birbhum Bravehearts and Burdwan Blasters respectively.

"This year team selection will be decided by a cricket experts' committee. In next BCL we have target to add more two teams and hopefully this tournament will become International in next year," Jishu Sengupta concluded.

(Reporting by Deepayan Sinha)