July 24, 2024 10:50 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Viral video shows tourist fainting after King's Guard Horse bites her in London while posing for photo | Budget allocates Rs 3,183.24 cr for minority affairs, up Rs 574.31 cr from previous year | US Secret Service director quits days after shooting at Donald Trump's rally | Budget 2024 will empower all sections of society, focuses on farmers in a big way: PM Modi | Pioneering a prosperous future: Nitin Gadkari hails Modi govt's first budget of third term
Tollywood, Bangladesh film industry come together for BBFA 2019

Tollywood, Bangladesh film industry come together for BBFA 2019

| @indiablooms | 21 Oct 2019, 04:32 pm

Kolkata/IBNS: Tollywood and Bangladesh film industry have come together for the first edition of Bharat Bangladesh Film Awards (BBFA) 2019.

The press conference of the BBFA 2019 was organised here last week.

The BBFA is an attempt to celebrate Bengali cinema of both the countries and to create a unique identity for itself.

The event consists of 20 different categories including 13 popular, 4 (Indian) regional, and 3 technical awards for works released in between June 2018 and May 31, 2019.

The event consists of 20 different categories including 13 popular, 4 (Indian) regional, and 3 technical awards. There will be 11 Performance Act (6 from Tollywood and 5 from Dhallywood). The Best Director Category will be won by one among Kaushik Ganguly, Srijit Mukherji, Shiboprasad  Mukherjee, Nandita Roy, Dhrubo Banerjee and Parambrata Chattopadhyay. The Lifetime achievement Award will be given to Ranjit Mallick from India and Anowara Begum from Bangladesh.

For the best film award, “Ek Je Chhilo Raja”, “Nagarkirtan”, “Sonar Pahar”, “Byomkesh Gotro” and “Mahalaya” will be selected as the nominees for India. The Best Actress award will be handed over to one among Paoli Dam, Swastika Mukherjee, Rituparna Sengupta, and Aparna Sen. And for the Best Actor Award, Jisshu Sengupta, Prosenjit Chatterjee, Riddhi Sen, Subhasish Mukherjee, Abir Chatterjee and Rudranil Ghosh will be competing with each other. 

The press conference saw the presence of celebrities such as Alamgir Hossain (Bangladesh), Rituparna Sengupta, Jeet Madnani, Prosenjit Chatterjee, Firdausul Hassan, Tanusree Chakraborty and Anjan Basu.

"We need to bring out those talents whom nobody ever thought of casting," said actress Tanusree Chakraborty.

“We’ll make a very small ‘Bangla Bhashaye IIFA’, which will be rich in culture and tradition," said Mr. Gautam Jain.

(Reporting by Dhrishti Shah)

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.