August 13, 2022 17:33 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Sourav Ganguly to lead Indian team in 75th Independence special match. Know more | MS Dhoni has to retire first to participate in overseas league: BCCI | Congress president Sonia Gandhi tests Covid-19 positive again | India at 75: Amit Shah hoists tricolour at home | Jammu and Kashmir govt sacks Salah-ud-Din's son, Bitta Karate's wife, two others over terror links
Incredible victory: Shah Rukh Khan, Amitabh Bachchan praise Indian team over Brisbane victory against Australia Shah Rukh Khan Amitabh Bachchan

Incredible victory: Shah Rukh Khan, Amitabh Bachchan praise Indian team over Brisbane victory against Australia

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 19 Jan 2021, 04:41 pm

Mumbai: Bollywood megastar Amitabh Bachchan described India's series winning victory in Australia as 'incredible'.


THOK DIYA .. Australia ko ..
INCREDIBLE VICTORY .. badhai badhai badhai .. !!Body blows ! Injury ! Racist abuse ! गले ते हथ ना रक्खीं , ठोक देयाँगे !!!!INCREDIBLE INDIA !! Don't ever underestimate INDIA !!"

Another superstar of the Indian film industry and Kolkata Knight Riders owner Shah Rukh Khan posted: "What an absolutely marvellous victory for our team!!! Stayed up all night to watch it unfold ball by ball. Now will sleep peacefully for a bit and savour this historic moment. Love to all our boys and greatly admire their resilience to power us through to this win. Chak De India!"

A young Indian team, powered by Shubman Gill, Rishabh Pant, Washington Sundar and others, defeated Australia by three wickets in the fourth Test at The Gabba on Tuesday.

With the win, India clinched the Border-Gavaskar Trophy by 2-1.

Chasing a target of 328, India in the second innings scored 329/7.

After Shubman Gill started the fight with a 91-run knock, the Indian innings was pulled by Cheteshwar Pujara (56 off 211 balls) and Rishabh Pant, who remained unbeaten at 89.

Debutant Washington Sundar also gave company to Pant with his 22-run cameo in the run chase.

Australian pace bowler Pat Cummins clinched four Indian wickets conceding 55 runs in 24 overs.

In the first innings, India scored 336 all out in response to Australia's 369.

India's first innings total was greatly helped by Sundar's 62 and Shardul Thakur's 67.

In the second innings, the Indian bowlers bowled out Australia for 294 in 75.5 overs.

This is the second consecutive Border-Gavaskar Trophy win by India. Also Ajinkya Rahane's team demolished Australia's record of remaining unbeaten at The Gabba for over 30 years.