July 12, 2024 23:41 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
BJP, allies sweep Maharashtra Legislative Council Poll winning 9 of 11 seats | Supreme Court Collegium recommends appointment of new CJIs in 8 High Courts | Agnipath: Centre fields CISF chiefs to reiterate Modi govt's commitment to 10 percent reservation for Agniveers | BJP MP Kangana Ranaut asks her visitors to bring Aadhaar card, sparks row | Supreme Court grants Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal interim bail in liquor policy case
NDA vs INDIA bloc: 13 Assembly seats in 7 states to go to bypolls
Photo courtesy: PIB

NDA vs INDIA bloc: 13 Assembly seats in 7 states to go to bypolls

| @indiablooms | 06 Jul 2024, 09:07 pm

New Delhi: After a high-stakes contest in the Lok Sabha polls, which saw the opposition making a strong comeback, the INDIA bloc and the BJP-led NDA will face off on July 10 as bypolls are held in 13 Assembly constituencies across seven states, including four in West Bengal.

The Assembly seats up for bypolls are Rupauli in Bihar; Raiganj, Ranaghat Dakshin, Bagdah, and Maniktala in West Bengal; Vikravandi in Tamil Nadu; Amarwara in Madhya Pradesh; Badrinath and Manglaur in Uttarakhand; Jalandhar West in Punjab; and Dehra, Hamirpur, and Nalagarh in Himachal Pradesh.

These bypolls were necessitated by vacancies resulting from the deaths of incumbent MLAs and resignations from various parties.

The votes will be counted on July 13.

In three of the four Assembly constituencies going to polls in West Bengal, BJP MLAs had joined the ruling TMC and unsuccessfully contested the recently concluded Lok Sabha elections. These constituencies are Raiganj, Ranaghat Dakshin, and Bagdah.

Maniktala: This Assembly constituency which had long been a Congress turf, has seen the rise of TMC as the grand old party lost its strength. The Trinamool bastion fell vacant after the incumbent TMC leader Sadhan Pandey died on February 20, 2022. The TMC has fielded Sadhan Pande's wife Supti Pande for the upcoming bypoll.

The BJP has fielded Kalyan Chaubey, who had earlier filed a petition alleging irregularities in the 2021 Assembly polls, against her.

Raiganj: The BJP registered a win in the Raiganj seat, but MLA Krishna Kalyani defected to the TMC. He was fielded in the Lok Sabha polls from Raiganj but lost to BJP candidate Kartik Paul. The TMC has again fielded Krishna Kalyani for his former seat. The BJP has nominated local leader Manas Kumar Ghosh, while senior CPM leader Mohit Sengupta is the Left-Congress candidate.

Bagdah: The BJP’s winning candidate, Biswajit Das, later returned to the TMC after winning the election. Das was fielded by the TMC in the Lok Sabha polls but was defeated by BJP's Shantanu Thakur in the Bongaon constituency.

The Matua community has a significant presence in Bagdah located in North 24 Parganas.

The TMC has nominated Madhuparna Thakur, daughter of TMC Rajya Sabha MP Mamata Bala Thakur, as its candidate. The BJP has fielded Binay Kumar Biswas, a local leader also from the Matua community.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.