July 12, 2024 22:27 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
BJP, allies sweep Maharashtra Legislative Council Poll winning 9 of 11 seats | Supreme Court Collegium recommends appointment of new CJIs in 8 High Courts | Agnipath: Centre fields CISF chiefs to reiterate Modi govt's commitment to 10 percent reservation for Agniveers | BJP MP Kangana Ranaut asks her visitors to bring Aadhaar card, sparks row | Supreme Court grants Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal interim bail in liquor policy case
NDA govt formed by mistake, can fall anytime: Congress chief Mallikarjun Kharge's claim
Modi 3.0
Photo courtesy: X/@kharge

NDA govt formed by mistake, can fall anytime: Congress chief Mallikarjun Kharge's claim

| @indiablooms | 15 Jun 2024, 01:55 pm

New Delhi/IBNS: Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge has said Prime Minister Narendra Modi's alliance government was "formed by mistake" claiming it can "fall anytime".

Speaking to ANI, Kharge said, "The NDA government has been formed by mistake. Modi ji doesn't have the mandate. It's a minority government. This government can fall anytime.

"We would like it to continue, let it be good for the country, we should work together to strengthen the country. But our Prime Minister is habitual of not letting something going on well to continue. But we will cooperate towards strengthening the country..."

In response, BJP leader Shaina NC told ANI, "Mallikarjun Kharge has not digested the fact that Modi 3.0 has already taken the oath, is working in the interest of India and by making preposterous comments and negative comments they are doing a disservice to the electorate that has voted and reposed faith and vishwas in Prime Minister Modi..."

Kharge's comment comes days after Prime Minister Modi formed a coalition government, which returned to national politics after a decade, for the first time.

Modi, who never led a coalition government neither at the state of centre, took oath for a rare third consecutive term on June 9.

The BJP, which had set 370 as its target, stopped at 240 seats, falling short of 32 from the majority mark.

Among various coalition partners, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu's Telugu Desam Party and Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar's Janata Dal (United) have the lion's share with 16 and 12 seats respectively.

The Opposition alliance- titled INDIA- could win 234 seats. 

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.