July 21, 2024 06:09 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Mumbai building collapses amid heavy rain; 1 dead | NTA publishes NEET-UG 2024 result on website as per Supreme Court order | Bangladesh protests: 63 students from Meghalaya return home, says CM Conrad Sangma | Ammonia gas leaks at Tamil Nadu fish plant, 29 workers faint | ED arrests Haryana Congress MLA Surender Panwar in illegal mining case
Newly formed Odisha govt decides to reopen all gates of Puri Jagannath Temple in first cabinet meet
In image Odisha cabinet meeting/ courtesy: X

Newly formed Odisha govt decides to reopen all gates of Puri Jagannath Temple in first cabinet meet

| @indiablooms | 12 Jun 2024, 11:29 pm

Bhubaneswar/IBNS: The first cabinet meeting of the newly formed BJP government in Odisha Wednesday decided to reopen all four entrance gates of Puri Jagannath Temple on June 13.

The cabinet meeting, chaired by Chief Minister Mohan Charan Majhi, decided that all four entrance gates of Puri Jagannath Temple will be reopened on Thursday in the presence of all ministers.

While the lions’ gate was opened for the devotees, three other gates remained closed in the wake of the Covid pandemic.

Devotees will have access to Puri Jagannath temple through all four gates from Thursday morning, Majhi announced.

The Cabinet approved a corpus fund of Rs. 500 crores for the Jagannath Temple, which will be utilised for the safety, security, and beautification of the temple.

The government has also decided to formulate a policy for farmers within 100 days to increase the minimum support price (MSP) of paddy to Rs. 3,100 crore per quintal.

The cabinet also decided to implement the Subhadra Yojana in 100 days.  Under the scheme, women will get cash vouchers of Rs 50,000 each.

Mohan Charan Majhi takes oath as Odisha CM

BJP leader Mohan Charan Majhi earlier in the day took oath as Chief Minister of Odisha, officially commencing the saffron brigade's rule in the state.

The four-time MLA took oath at Janata Maidan in Bhubaneswar around 5 pm.

He is the first Chief Minister of the saffron outfit in the East Indian state which was ruled for 24 years by the Biju Janata Dal.

In the recently held Assembly polls, Bharatiya Janata Party routed the BJD by defeating former CM Naveen Patnaik's party.

The BJP won 78 out of the 147 seats in the Assembly.

The BJD won 51.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.