July 15, 2024 22:22 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
BJP's Rajya Sabha figure lowers to 86, NDA now 12 short of majority | Supreme Court rejects DK Shivakumar's plea to quash CBI case in disproportionate assets charge | After Puja Khedkar, now former bureaucrat and actor Abhishek Singh faces heat over disability claim | Bhasmasura will finish your party: BJP warns Akhilesh Yadav over tie-up with Congress | Overconfidence hurt our expectations: Yogi Adityanath on BJP's Lok Sabha poll debacle in Uttar Pradesh
Four-time BJP MLA Mohan Charan Majhi takes oath as Odisha CM
Photo courtesy: X/@mohanmajhi_BJP

Four-time BJP MLA Mohan Charan Majhi takes oath as Odisha CM

| @indiablooms | 12 Jun 2024, 05:38 pm

Bharatiya Janata Party leader Mohan Charan Majhi on Wednesday took oath as Chief Minister of Odisha, officially commencing the saffron brigade's rule in the state.

The four-time MLA took oath at Janata Maidan in Bhubaneswar around 5pm.

Also Read: Who is Mohan Charan Majhi, the first BJP Chief Minister of Odisha?

He is the first Chief Minister of the saffron outfit in the East Indian state which was ruled for 24 years by the Biju Janata Dal.

According to reports, Majhi, earlier in the day, met former CM Naveen Patnaik and invited him to the oath-taking ceremony.

In the recently held Assembly polls, Bharatiya Janata Party routed the BJD by defeating former CM Naveen Patnaik party.

The BJP won 78 out of the 147 seats in the Assembly.

The BJD won 51.

Who is Mohan Charan Majhi, the CM-elect of Odisha?

Mohan Charan Majhi is from a tribal Santhal community. He won from Koenjhar constituency defeating BJD by over 11,000 votes.

A four-term MLA, Majhi is with the BJP for a long time. He was also a teacher at a school, which is a part of RSS' educational wing, in Koenjhar district.

Majhi was elected to the assembly for the first time in 2000 and got re-elected in 2004. After BJP and BJD broke their ties, Majhi lost in 2009 and also couldn't win in 2014.

But he returned to the assembly in 2019 and virtually led the BJP's charge against the Naveen Patnaik government as the chief whip.

After Leader of Opposition Pradipta Kumar Naik was hospitalised, Majhi stepped in to corner the Patnaik government.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.