June 17, 2024 23:08 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Priyanka Gandhi to make poll debut with contest from from Wayanad, Rahul keeps Raebareli | Opposition slams Centre over Bengal train mishap that left 9 dead, demands govt to take responsibility | Elon Musk has not understood what the Indian EVM is: Rajeev Chandrasekhar counters Tesla CEO's claim | Result of mismanagement and negligence of Modi govt: Rahul Gandhi on Kanchanjungha train accident | Kanchanjungha train accident: Case of signal disregard, says Railway board chairman
Mallikarjun Kharge to attend Narendra Modi's swearing-in ceremony today
Mallikarjun Kharge with top Congress leaders/ courtesy: INC Facebook

Mallikarjun Kharge to attend Narendra Modi's swearing-in ceremony today

| @@indiablooms | 09 Jun 2024, 12:59 pm

New Delhi/IBNS: Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge will attend Prime Minister-designate Narendra Modi's swearing-in ceremony on Sunday.

Kharge will attend in his capacity as the Leader of the Opposition in the Rajya Sabha, the Congress said in a statement. This decision follows consultations with several INDIA bloc leaders yesterday.

Trinamool Congress, an INDIA Bloc partner, will not attend the ceremony.

The extended Congress Working Committee (CWC), the highest executive forum of the grand old Indian political party, on Saturday unanimously passed a resolution to appoint senior leader Rahul Gandhi  as the Leader of the Opposition in the Lower House of the Parliament.

In the meeting, Gandhi, who has won from Wayanad and Raebareli, said he would think about the proposal (to become the LoP), leaders familiar with the matter said, adding that Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge, however, politely reminded him that since CWC has passed a resolution in this order, he should accept the post.

India has invited several leaders from neighbouring countries to attend the swearing-in ceremony of Narendra Modi, who is set to become the Prime Minister for a third consecutive term on Sunday.

The ceremony will take place today at 7.15 pm at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Besides Modi his Council of Ministers will also take their oaths of office and secrecy, forming part of the Prime Minister's new cabinet.

According to the Ministry of External Affairs, several leaders have accepted the invitation and will arrive in New Delhi on Sunday to participate in the ceremony.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.