June 15, 2024 03:46 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Delhi LG approves prosecution of Arundhati Roy, Sheikh Showkat Hussain in 2010 provocative speech case | BS Yediyurappa, accused of harassing minor, can't be arrested till next hearing: Karnataka HC | PM Modi meets Meloni, Macron, Zelenskyy and Pope as part of mega outreach program in Italy | NEET-UG 2024: Supreme Court issues notice to Centre, NTA on pleas seeking CBI probe into paper leak | BJP worshipped Lord Ram but stopped at 241 due to arrogance, says RSS leader days after Mohan Bhagwat's veiled attack on Modi's party
Congress Working Committee passes resolution to appoint Rahul Gandhi as Lok Sabha's Leader of Opposition
Rahul Gandhi
Photo Courtesy: Congress X page

Congress Working Committee passes resolution to appoint Rahul Gandhi as Lok Sabha's Leader of Opposition

| @indiablooms | 08 Jun 2024, 06:20 pm

The extended Congress Working Committee (CWC), the highest executive forum of the grand old Indian political party, on Saturday unanimously passed a resolution to appoint senior leader Rahul Gandhi  as the Leader of the Opposition in the Lower House of the Parliament.

In the meeting, Gandhi, who has won from Wayanad and Raebareli, said he will think about the proposal (to become the LoP), leaders familiar with the matter said, adding that Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge, however, politely reminded him that since CWC has passed a resolution in this order, he should accept the post, reported Hidustan Times.

“In another resolution, the CWC unanimously requested Rahul Gandhi to take the LoP post in the Lok Sabha. All participants, in their view, were unanimous that Rahul Gandhi should become the LoP,” Congress general secretary KC Venugopal said after the CWC meeting as quoted by the newspaper.

How Congress performed in recently held Lok Sabha polls?

After a gap of 10 years, the country is set to have an Opposition leader as Congress has won 99 seats, the figure much above than what is required.

Rahul Gandhi has won from both Kerala's Wayanad and Uttar Pradesh's Rae Bareli in the Lok Sabha polls.

As BJP's tally of seats stopped at 240- 32 short of the majority mark (272)- TDP (16 seats), JDU (12 seats), Eknath Shinde faction of Shiv Sena (7 seats) and Chirag Paswan's Lok Janshakti Party-Ram Vilas (5 seats) have emerged as the kingmakers.

It is learnt that Naidu and Kumar, who have remained in coalition governments in the past, aim for plum posts in the new central government.

Modi, who has been chosen as the leader of NDA alliance, will take oath as the Prime Minister on June 9.

The INDIA bloc, which performanced better than what was expected, has decided to "wait and watch" after winning 232 seats.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.