June 20, 2024 07:23 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Sending shockwaves, man kills girlfriend in full public view with a spanner in Mumbai | 'It will be you versus me in Maharashtra polls': Uddhav Thackeray challenges PM Modi | With Modi's re-election, Justin Trudeau wants to engage on some 'very serious issues' | Fire breaks out at iconic Hollong Bungalow in Bengal's Jalpaiguri | Portion of under-construction bridge collapses in Bihar's Araria
Lok Sabha polls: Sonia-Rahul, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra cast votes in Delhi
Elections '24
Photo courtesy: X/@priyankagandhi

Lok Sabha polls: Sonia-Rahul, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra cast votes in Delhi

| @indiablooms | 25 May 2024, 11:03 am

New Delhi/IBNS: Congress top leaders, Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra and her husband Robert Vadra cast their votes in Delhi as the sixth phase of Lok Sabha polls are underway on Saturday.

After casting their votes, Sonia, Rahul and Priyanka clicked pictures. Priyanka was accompanied by her children- Raihan Rajiv Vadra and Miraya Vadra.

When asked about AAP and Congress voting for each other, Priyanka said, "We are keeping aside our grievances and casting votes for our Constitution and democracy. I feel proud of it."

"I urge everyone to vote and bring a change," she added.

In the penultimate phase, voting is taking place across 58 seats stretched across six states and two Union Territories including the national capital Delhi.

11.13 crore people are expected to exercise their franchise in this phase and decide the fates of  889 candidates across 1.14 lakh polling stations.

Among those in the fray for the BJP are Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan, Maneka Gandhi, former Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar, party spokesman Sambit Patra, late External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj's daughter Bansuri Swaraj and actor-turned-politician Manoj Tiwari.

The star Congress candidates include Deepender Singh Hooda, Kumari Selja, Raj Babbar and Kanhaiya Kumar. The heavyweight list also includes Samajwadi Party leader Dharmendra Yadav and PDP chief Mehbooba Mufti.

The states voting in this phase are Bihar (8 seats), Haryana (all 10 seats), Jharkhand (4 seats),, Odisha (6 seats), Uttar Pradesh (14 seats) and West Bengal (8 seats).

Completing the list are the two Union Territories -- Delhi (all 7 seats) and Jammu and Kashmir (one seat) will also vote.

The election to the Anantnag-Rajouri parliamentary constituency of Jammu and Kashmir, deferred from May 7 following logistical, communication, and natural barriers related to connectivity, is being held in this phase.

The most riveting contest will be for the national capital Delhi, where the BJP swept all seven seats in 2019. This time, Arvind Kejriwal's Aam Aadmi Party is leaving no stone unturned with its "Jail Ka Jawab Vote Se" campaign. AAP is contesting four seats in the national capital, its ally Congress three.

This phase will be crucial for NDA, which has to keep its score intact to meet its "400-plus" target. In 2019, the BJP alone won 40 of the 58 constituencies going to polls in this phase in the Hindi heartland and the east. Its NDA allies won five more seats.

The parties of the Opposition INDIA bloc -- Trinamool Congress, National Conference and Samajwadi Party – had won five seats, the Congress none.

The last phase i.e. seventh phase of polling will be held on June 1 with counting of votes scheduled on June 4. Polling for 25 States/UTs and 428 constituencies was completed in the first five phases of the general elections.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.