May 26, 2024 17:21 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Payal Kapadia's Indian film All We Imagine As Light wins Grand Prix Award at Cannes | 'Was told to take the blame': Pune Porsche teen's grandfather told driver to take responsibility for crash | 24 killed in gaming zone fire in Gujarat’s Rajkot; PM Modi expresses grief | INDIA bloc performing mujra for vote bank, says Prime Minister Narendra Modi launching a scathing attack on opposition parties | West Bengal, Odisha brace for impact of Cyclone Remal, check the latest update on landfall time
Lok Sabha polls: Srinagar voting for first time in major polls since the abrogation of special status in 2019
Photo Courtesy: PIB

Lok Sabha polls: Srinagar voting for first time in major polls since the abrogation of special status in 2019

| @indiablooms | 13 May 2024, 10:10 am

Amid tight security arrangements, people are voting in Jammu and Kashmir's Srinagar seat, the first major polling taking place in the region since special status was abrogated by the BJP government on August 5, 2019 and the erstwhile state was also downgraded into two union territories of Ladakh and Jammu and Kashmir.

Over 17.4 lakh electorate are eligible to exercise their franchise to decide the fate of 24 candidates in the seat.

The Srinagar parliamentary constituency is spread across five districts namely Srinagar, Budgam, Ganderbal in central Kashmir and Pulwama and Shopian in south Kashmir districts.

Polling began at 7 am across 2,135 polling stations in the constituency.

As many as 17.7 crore people are expected to cast their votes in the fourth phase of the Lok Sabha elections which is currently underway on Monday across 96 seats spread over nine states and a Union Territory.

In this phase, voters will decide the fates of 1,717 candidates across 1.92 lakh polling stations under the supervision of over 19 lakh election officials.

Voting is expected to continue until 6 pm.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) said polling time in certain assembly segments of the 17 parliamentary constituencies in Telangana have been increased to improve voters’ participation, media reports said.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.