May 29, 2024 23:07 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Pune Porsche accident: Hospital dean alleges political interference by legislator | TMC transferring SC, ST, OBC reservations to Muslims: PM Modi in Bengal | Mani Shankar Aiyar's '1962 Chinese invasion' comment sparks row, Congress distances itself after BJP ire | Supreme Court refuses to hear Arvind Kejriwal's bail plea seeking interim bail extension | Amit Shah predicts BJP's Lok Sabha seats in East and South ahead of final phase of voting
Modi makes 'daro mat' jibe at Rahul Gandhi after Congress leader moves from Amethi to Rae Bareli
Photo courtesy: X/@BJP4India

Modi makes 'daro mat' jibe at Rahul Gandhi after Congress leader moves from Amethi to Rae Bareli

| @indiablooms | 03 May 2024, 12:24 pm

Kolkata/IBNS: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Friday weaponised his prime opponent Rahul Gandhi's popular "daro mat (don't be afraid)" call against the Congress leader, who switched from Amethi to Rae Bareli as a second seat to contest in the Lok Sabha elections.

Speaking at a rally in West Bengal, Modi said, "I had already told you that the prince is looking for another seat for himself due to fear of defeat in Wayanad.

"Now he had to run away from Amethi and choose the Rae Bareli seat. These people go around and tell everyone 'daro mat (don't be afraid)! I would say the same thing to them, daro mat, bhago mat (don't be afraid! Do not run!)."

Ending all speculations, Congress on Friday fielded its top leader Rahul Gandhi from Rae Bareli and Kishori Lal Sharma from Amethi in Uttar Pradesh to take on the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the Lok Sabha elections.

Rahul,​ who is also contesting from Kerala's Wayanad, will fight from Rae Bareli, a Congress bastion which saw his mother Sonia Gandhi win even the last time in 2019. 

Sonia Gandhi, a Congress veteran, has opted out of the Lok Sabha contest by moving to the Rajya Sabha.

Rahul, the former Congress president, was defeated by Union Minister Smriti Irani in Amethi in the 2019 parliamentary elections.

Irani won the seat in 2019 five years after she was defeated by Rahul, who was the Congress vice president then.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.