May 30, 2024 16:29 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Liquor policy case: Delhi court seeks ED's response on Arvind Kejriwal's bail plea | Shashi Tharoor's former PA arrested at Delhi Airport in gold smuggling case, Congress leader says 'law must take its own course' | Bihar man dies in Delhi hospital due to heat stroke amid record-breaking heatwave in national capital | Bengali film actress Rituparna Sengupta summoned by ED in ration distribution scam | Centre begins process of granting citizenship under CAA in West Bengal
Congress fields Rahul Gandhi from Raebareli for high-voltage Lok Sabha contest
Rahul Gandhi
Photo Courtesy: Rahul Gandhi Facebook page

Congress fields Rahul Gandhi from Raebareli for high-voltage Lok Sabha contest

| @indiablooms | 03 May 2024, 09:59 am

India's age-old party Congress on Friday named former party chief Rahul Gandhi as its candidate for the general polls from Raebareli seat in Uttar Pradesh.

It was expected that Rahul Gandhi would be fighting from Amethi, a seat where he contested for several years before being defeated in 2019 general polls by BJP leader and Union Minister Smriti Irani.

In its latest candidate list, Congress fielded Kishori Lal Sharma from Amethi.

Both the seats remained Congress bastions for years.

Elections in the Raebareli and Amethi seats will be held on May 20 in the fifth phase of the polls.

Sharma will face Irani in the politically crucial Amethi seat.

Rahul Gandhi would face BJP leader Dinesh Pratap Singh in Raebareli.

Former Congress chief Sonia Gandhi had defeated him in 2019.

Rahul Gandhi was elected to Lok Sabha last year when he won Wayanad seat despite losing his hold on Amethi.

India has so far voted in the first two phases of the Lok Sabha polls.

The polls assume significance as Prime Minister Narendra Modi is looking forward to return to power for the record third term which is rare in Indian politics.

If elected to power, Modi will be the first non-Congress PM to lead the country for three consecutive terms.

In 2014, Modi was elected to power for the first term after he lead his Bharatiya Janata Party to a massive victory to end the Congress-led UPA rule of tean years.

In February this year, Sonia Gandhi chose to contest as a Rajya Sabha member, citing health and age issues. She was unanimously elected to the Upper House from Rajasthan.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.