May 28, 2024 10:41 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Bibhav Kumar's bail, if granted, will be a death threat for me and my family: Swati Maliwal to Delhi HC | Now we don't trust Gujarat govt: High Court raps State and local body over Rajkot gaming zone fire incident | Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal requests Supreme Court to extend his interim relief by 7 days in liquor policy case | Cyclone Remal leaves trail of destruction in West Bengal, claims 2 lives, downpour continues | 'Man-made disaster': Gujarat High Court takes suo motu cognizance of Rajkot gaming zone fire that killed 27 people
Election Commission of India orders removal of home secretaries in 6 states and West Bengal police chief
Election Commission of India
West Bengal DGP Rajiv Kumar. Photo Courtesy: UNI

Election Commission of India orders removal of home secretaries in 6 states and West Bengal police chief

| @indiablooms | 18 Mar 2024, 04:36 pm

Days after announcing the schedule for Lok Sabha polls, the Election Commission of India (ECI) on Monday issued orders for the removal of home secretaries in six states- Gujarat, Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, Jharkhand, Himachal Pradesh, and Uttarakhand.

The poll panel also ordered the removal of Brihanmumbai Municipal Commissioner Iqbal Singh Chahal, along with additional commissioners and deputy commissioners.

Official sources told UNI that the steps were taken to "maintain the integrity of the election machinery" and "ensure a level playing field" ahead of the Lok Sabha polls.

According to sources, the Election Commission has also ordered West Bengal Director General of Police (DGP) Rajeev Kumar to stay away from election work and asked the state government to send a panel of names of three police officers for appointment in his place.

The Commission has directed the West Bengal government to remove Director General of Police Rajeev Kumar from his present charge and appoint him for non-election duty.

Sources said the commission has also issued directions to the Mizoram and Himachal Pradesh governments to change the secretaries of their general administrative departments.

The poll body had on Saturday declared a seven-phase poll schedule for Lok Sabha polls starting on April 19, 2024.

The final round of voting would take place on June 1.

(With UNI inputs)

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.