May 19, 2024 03:49 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Arvind Kejriwal to march with AAP leaders to BJP HQs tomorrow with an 'arrest' dare | Adhir Chowdhury won't decide, he will be axed if he doesn't...': Congress chief Mallikarjun Kharge on alliance with Mamata Banerjee | Swati Maliwal assault case: Arvind Kejriwal's aide Bibhav Kumar arrested by Delhi Police | DK Shivakumar offered me Rs. 100 crore to defame Modi: Arrested BJP leader G Devaraje Gowda on Karnataka sex scandal | Swati Maliwal assault case: New video shows AAP MP escorted out of Arvind Kejriwal's home
Arjun Singh returns to BJP, TMC MP Dibyendu Adhikari switches allegiance LS polls
In image Arjun Singh joining BJP/ videograb

Arjun Singh returns to BJP, TMC MP Dibyendu Adhikari switches allegiance

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 15 Mar 2024, 09:18 pm

Kolkata/IBNS: Political heavyweight Arjun Singh, who became a Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MP in 2019 after leaving the Trinamool Congress but returned to his old party three years later,  made a comeback to the saffron outfit on Friday in the presence of its central leadership in New Delhi.

Alongside Singh, Trinamool MP Dibyendu Adhikari also joined the BJP.

Singh, who kept sulking after the Trinamool denied him a ticket for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls from his constituency Barrackpore, is likely to be nominated by the BJP from the same constituency.

In 2019 too, Arjun Singh had crossed over to the BJP before the general elections after the Trinamool refused to entertain his demand that he be made the party candidate from Barrackpore.

He fought the election from Barrackpore as a BJP nominee and defeated sitting Trinamool MP Dinesh Trivedi in a close fight.

However, he returned to the Trinamool in 2022 but retained his MP status.

This time, the Trinamool has given the ticket for the Barrackpore Lok Sabha constituency to state irrigation minister Partha Bhowmick, who is serving his third straight term as the MLA from Naihati, which comes under Barrackpore.

After taking the BJP flag again, Singh alleged that he was forced to disassociate with the BJP in 2022 as pressure was built on him and his followers after the 2021 Assembly poll and many BJP cadres were killed in Barrackpore and other parts of the state in post-election violence.

Dibyendu Adhikari, who represents Tamluk in the Lok Sabha, is the younger brother of the state leader of the opposition Suvendu Adhikari.

Dibyendu expressed happiness with his entry into the BJP fold. "What happened in Sandeshkhali, especially against women, is not an issue of Bengal alone but that of the entire country," he said.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.