April 17, 2024 05:43 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
EC bans Randeep Surjewala from campaigning for 48 hours over derogatory remarks against Hema Malini | LS poll: MK Stalin trains guns at PM Modi in his poll campaigns, calls him 'vasool raja', 'anit-Tamil Nadu' | Boat capsizes in Kashmir's Jhelum River, police recover 4 school bags; six feared dead | 'We will finish Lawrence Bishnoi': Eknath Shinde tells Salman Khan over firing incident | Top Maoist leader among 29 killed in massive Chhattisgarh encounter
Naveen Patnaik's BJD supports Ashwini Vaishnaw's nomination for Rajya Sabha polls from Odisha Ashwini Vaishnaw
Photo courtesy: PIB

Naveen Patnaik's BJD supports Ashwini Vaishnaw's nomination for Rajya Sabha polls from Odisha

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 14 Feb 2024, 01:27 pm

Bhubaneswar/UNI: Ending all speculations, the ruling BJD on Wednesday extended its support to Railway Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw for the Rajya Sabha seat from Odisha.

In a statement, BJD President Naveen Patnaik said on Wednesday the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) will support the candidature of Union Railways, Communication, and Information and Technology Minister for the greater interest of the state’s railways and telecom development in the ensuing election to the Rajya Sabha.

The party had earlier on Monday announced the names of two candidates—former BJD MLA Debashish Samantray and Biju Yuva Janata Dal Vice President Subhasish Khuntia—who had filed their nominations on Tuesday.

Although elections would be held for three Rajya Sabha seats in Odisha, the BJD had announced only two names on Monday, leading to a lot of political speculation about the third candidate in the political circle.

The terms of Railway Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw, Prashant Nanda, and Amar Pattnaik, who were elected to Rajya Sabha from Odisha, will expire in April 2024.

The ruling BJD had supported the candidature of Ashwini Vaishnaw in the 1999 RS elections, who had then filed his nomination as a BJP candidate for the Rajya Sabha seat from Odisha.

As per the ECI notification, the last date for filing nominations is February 15, while the last date for withdrawing is February 20. The elections and counting of votes will be held on February 27.

Wednesday being a holiday, Vaishnaw, who is on a two-day visit to Odisha, will file his nominations on February 15, the last day of filing nomination papers for the RS elections.

Going by the strength of the ruling BJD in the Odisha Legislative Assembly, it will be a foregone conclusion that all three candidates will be elected to the Upper House.

In the 147-member Odisha Assembly, the BJD has 114 members, followed by the BJP (22), Congress (9), CPM, and Independents one each.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.