March 04, 2024 04:44 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Sikh musician shot dead in suspected hate crime in US | Karnataka CM Siddaramaiah expresses confidence in arresting Rameshwaram Cafe bomber | BJP must win all 42 Lok Sabha seats in Bengal: PM Modi | Gautam Gambhir wishes to quit politics, requests JP Nadda to relieve him of political duties | Delhi court orders Bloomberg to take down 'defamatory' article against Zee
Ex-Union minister Rajyavardhan Rathore trails behind Congress candidate Abhishek Choudhary Rajasthan Polls
Congress's Abhishek Choudhary (L) is pitted against BJP leader Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore (R) in Jothwara seat. (Photos: | IBNS File)

Ex-Union minister Rajyavardhan Rathore trails behind Congress candidate Abhishek Choudhary

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 03 Dec 2023, 01:51 pm

Jothwara (Rajasthan): Former Union Minister and BJP leader Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore is trailing behind 33-year-old Congress candidate Abhishek Choudhary in the Jhotwara constituency.

Vote counting for the November 25 assembly elections in Rajasthan started at 8 am on Sunday under stringent security measures.

Choudhary is currently in the lead with a margin of 9,000 votes in Jhotwara, a suburban area located in the north-west of Jaipur, reported India Today.

It’s worth noting that Jhotwara is a general seat and is not reserved for Scheduled Castes (SCs) or Scheduled Tribes (STs).

Rajasthan has exhibited a pattern of alternating governments every five years, a trend observed since 1993.

The Congress party is working to maintain its hold on power in the face of a resurgent BJP.

Bahujan Samaj Party's (BSP) Dr Ashok Kumar Sharma, Rashtriya Loktantrik Party's (RLP) Jeewanram Jat, Right to Recall Party's (RRP) Aditya Prakash Sharma, Indian Peoples Green Party's (IPGP) Yogi Jeetendra Nath, Jannayak Janta Party's (JJP) Deen Dayal Jakhar, Rashtriya Janata Sena's (RJS) Naveen Kumar Sharma, Rashtriya Sawarn Dal's (RSD) Beni Prasad Kaushik and Independent candidates Arjun Lal Kumawat, Anand Kumar Saini, Ashu Singh Surpura, Praveen Kumar Sharma, Prasanna Maheshwari, Bhuvnesh Kumar Goyal, Rajesh Kumar Yadav, Surgyan Singh Ghoslya and Hari Kishan Tiwari are also fighting to represent the Jhotwara constituency in the state assembly.

In 2018 Assembly election, Jhotwara assembly constituency was wrested by Congress candidate Lalchand Kataria from BJP’s Rajpal Singh Shekhawat by a margin of 10,747 votes.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.