March 03, 2024 17:36 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Sikh musician shot dead in suspected hate crime in US | Karnataka CM Siddaramaiah expresses confidence in arresting Rameshwaram Cafe bomber | BJP must win all 42 Lok Sabha seats in Bengal: PM Modi | Gautam Gambhir wishes to quit politics, requests JP Nadda to relieve him of political duties | Delhi court orders Bloomberg to take down 'defamatory' article against Zee
Telangana elections 2023: 36.68% voter turnout recorded in Telangana till 1 pm Elections 2023
Image Credit: UNI

Telangana elections 2023: 36.68% voter turnout recorded in Telangana till 1 pm

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 30 Nov 2023, 02:16 pm

Hyderabad/UNI: An estimated 36.68% of the over 3.26 crore electorate have exercised their franchise in the Telangana Assembly election till 1 pm on Thursday.

Voters queued up in the polling booths across the state to exercise their franchise, amid tight security.

The voting, which commenced at 0700 hours, is scheduled to conclude at 5 PM in 106 constituencies while in 13 Left Wing Extremism (LWE) affected constituencies it will end at 4 PM.

The 13 constituencies are Sirpur, Chennur, Bellampalli, Mancherial, Asifabad, Manthani, Bhupalapally, Mulugu, Pinapaka, Yellandu, Kothagudem, Aswaraopet, and Bhadrachalam.

Union Minister and Telangana BJP president G Kishan Reddy wrote to the Election Commission of India and the Chief Electoral Officer of the state alleging ''electoral malpractices'' by BRS candidates and their workers.

Reports said Tension prevailed at Booth number 244 in Jangaon constituency, when the BRS-Congress-BJP clashed. Police had to resort to cane charge to disperse the cadres.

In Bodhan Town in Nizamabad district, BRS and Congress leaders clashed prompting police intervention. In Khanapur village in Ibrahmipatnam constituency, police lathicharged the clashing BRS and Congress workers. Some party workers were detained and whisked away.

The voting process was halted for almost 45 minutes at Booth No 253, R&B Building in Kamareddy Assembly constituency due to a malfunction of the EVM here at around 8 am.

However, the voting started 45 minutes after the EVM was changed, official sources said.

As many as 2,290 candidates are in the fray and testing their luck in the hustings.

Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao, Ministers, leaders from various political parties, and bureaucrats, along with their families, were among those who exercised their franchise.Notable film personalities, including megastar Chiranjeevi, also cast his vote in Hyderabad.

The BRS has fielded candidates in all 119 seats. As per the seat-sharing agreement, BJP and actor Pawan Kalyan-headed Jana Sena Party are contesting in 111 and eight seats respectively, while Congress has given one seat to its ally CPI, and is fighting from 118 others.

In 2018, the BRS won 88 of the 119 seats while the Congress came in a distant second with just 19 seats. The BJP won only one seat.

The counting of votes will be taken up on December 3, along with Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, and Mizoram.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.