July 24, 2024 11:09 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Viral video shows tourist fainting after King's Guard Horse bites her in London while posing for photo | Budget allocates Rs 3,183.24 cr for minority affairs, up Rs 574.31 cr from previous year | US Secret Service director quits days after shooting at Donald Trump's rally | Budget 2024 will empower all sections of society, focuses on farmers in a big way: PM Modi | Pioneering a prosperous future: Nitin Gadkari hails Modi govt's first budget of third term
Karnataka assembly election results: Counting of votes commences
Karnataka Assembly Polls

Karnataka assembly election results: Counting of votes commences

| @indiablooms | 13 May 2023, 08:17 am

Bengaluru: The counting of votes for electing 224 legislators for the Karnataka assembly began at 8 am on Saturday.

The clear picture on the verdict is expected to be known post-noon.

The stakes are high for three main contenders - BJP, Congress and JDS.

While the BJP is looking to break the 38-year jinx in the state where the incumbent party was thrown out of power by the people in 1985.

The Congress is looking to ride high on 40 per cent commission sarkara, price rise and unemployment.

JDS is eyeing to become a kingmaker in case of fractured mandate as it did in the 2018 election.

The BJP again made Bajrang Bali a poll issue, attacking Congress for its manifesto proposal to ban the Bajrang Dal in the state if it is elected to power, the grand-old party clarified it by saying that there was no proposal to ban Bajrang Dal and promising more Lord Hanuman temples in the state.

Among the top candidates from these parties are Siddaramaiah, DK Shivakumar, HD Kumaraswamy, Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai, and Jagadish Shettar.
In the 2018 election, the BJP was the single-largest party winning 104 seats.

However, Congress, which had bagged only 80 seats, stitched an alliance with HD Kumaraswamy's JDS, which won 37 seats, and formed a coalition government in the state.

The BJP formed the government mid-way after some Congress and JDS MLAs withdrew their support from the coalition government.

The result will be declared today by the Election Commission of India.

(With UNI inputs)

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.