July 24, 2024 05:41 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Viral video shows tourist fainting after King's Guard Horse bites her in London while posing for photo | Budget allocates Rs 3,183.24 cr for minority affairs, up Rs 574.31 cr from previous year | US Secret Service director quits days after shooting at Donald Trump's rally | Budget 2024 will empower all sections of society, focuses on farmers in a big way: PM Modi | Pioneering a prosperous future: Nitin Gadkari hails Modi govt's first budget of third term
Karnataka polls: Basavaraj Bommai, Yediyurappa in Delhi to discuss BJP candidates' list
K'taka Polls
Image Credit: UNI

Karnataka polls: Basavaraj Bommai, Yediyurappa in Delhi to discuss BJP candidates' list

| @indiablooms | 08 Apr 2023, 12:57 pm

New Delhi/UNI: Karnataka Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai and his predecessor BS Yediyurappa are attending a BJP core group meeting to choose candidates for the upcoming May 10 assembly election in Karnataka here on Saturday.

The official list will be finalised by the party's parliamentary board on April 9.

Bommai and Yediyurappa, last evening, had arrived in New Delhi to attend the final sessions to final couple of meetings to choose BJP candidates.

A meeting in this regard also was held at BJP National President JP Nadda's residence on Friday night.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Gujarat Election In-charge Dharmendra Pradhan, Co-in-charge Mansukh Mandavia, and Gujarat In-charge General Secretary Arun Singh were also present in the meeting to discuss the potential list of candidates.

Speaking to reporters here, Bommai said the central committee of the BJP in Karnataka has chosen three candidates for each assembly seat.

"These candidates will be submitted to the Central Election Committee. The top leadership of the party will then deliberate upon it before finalising the nominees," he said.

The Congress has already released names of 166 candidates, while JDS has released names of 93 candidates who would contest elections. Many BJP turncoats have been fielded by the Congress.

The Congress is yet to release the remaining names of 58 candidates. In its first list of candidates, the party released names of 124 candidates including Siddaramaiah and Karnataka Congress President DK Shivakumar from Varuna and Kanakapura constituencies, respectively.

In the 2018 assembly election, the BJP emerged as the single-largest party by winning 104 seats followed by Congress with 80 seats, and JDS with 37 seats.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.