June 17, 2024 23:20 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Priyanka Gandhi to make poll debut with contest from from Wayanad, Rahul keeps Raebareli | Opposition slams Centre over Bengal train mishap that left 9 dead, demands govt to take responsibility | Elon Musk has not understood what the Indian EVM is: Rajeev Chandrasekhar counters Tesla CEO's claim | Result of mismanagement and negligence of Modi govt: Rahul Gandhi on Kanchanjungha train accident | Kanchanjungha train accident: Case of signal disregard, says Railway board chairman
Nagaland elects its first ever woman MLA in NDPP's Hekani Jakhalu
Image Credit: twitter.com/Hekani

Nagaland elects its first ever woman MLA in NDPP's Hekani Jakhalu

| @indiablooms | 02 Mar 2023, 04:35 pm

Kohima/IBNS: Nagaland has created a milestone by electing a woman to its Assembly for the first time. Hekani Jakhalu, a member of the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP), has become the state's first female MLA.

By securing 1,536 more votes than Azheto Zhimomi, the leader of the Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas), Hekani Jakhalu won the contest for the Dimapur III seat.

The Nagaland Assembly might also have another female MLA in addition to Hekani Jakhalu.

Salhoutuonuo Kruse, another NDPP candidate, is currently leading in the Western Angami constituency by a margin of more than 400 votes, which could lead to a double celebration in the state.

In its history of 14 Assembly elections, the state had never before elected a woman MLA.

This year, out of the 183 candidates in the fray, only four women contested the polls.

Under Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio’s leadership, the NDPP has been in a coalition with the BJP since the 2018 elections.

The alliance secured 30 seats in the previous election and in 2023 it is leading in 39 seats. With the requirement of 31 seats for a majority in the 60-seat Assembly, the alliance is on course to attain a comfortable majority.

As per a seat-sharing agreement, the BJP fielded candidates in 20 seats while the NDPP fought in 40.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.