June 25, 2024 11:56 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Replace Mumbai unit chief: Maharashtra Congress leaders write to Mallikarjun Kharge | 'Do I have to sweep the streets now?' Mamata Banerjee pulls up civic body chiefs | Jhansi: Woman shot dead by ex-boyfriend while getting bridal make-up hours before wedding | 'Are you defending LG?' Supreme Court slams authorities on Delhi tree cutting | INDIA bloc protests in Parliament premise 'to save democracy'
In big setback for BJP on Nitin Gadkari's home turf, MVA candidate wins Legislative Council seat in Nagpur
Image Credit: Videograb from Sudhakar Adbale's Facebook page

In big setback for BJP on Nitin Gadkari's home turf, MVA candidate wins Legislative Council seat in Nagpur

| @indiablooms | 02 Feb 2023, 10:43 pm

Mumbai/IBNS: In a major electoral setback for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in one of its most significant turf, the candidate for the opposition Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) coalition on Thursday defeated the saffron party's contender in polls to a Maharashtra Legislative Council seat in Nagpur.

The massive blow for the BJP is more relevant owing to the fact that the constituency houses the headquarters of its ideological parent Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) and is the home turf of prominent leaders like Union Minister Nitin Gadkari and Deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis.

This was considered a key contest in the state after CM Eknath Shinde displaced Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray, siding with the BJP in June.

The election saw the MVA's Sudhakar Adbale win the Nagpur teachers' seat, defeating the BJP-backed Nago Ganar, officials said.

The 6-year term of five council members - three from teachers and two from graduates constituencies - is expiring on Feb 7 and polling was held on Monday to fill up the upcoming vacancies.

Teachers and graduates fulfilling certain criteria and enrolled as voters were eligible to exercise their franchise in these elections.

The Konkan teachers' constituency recorded the highest voter turnout at 91.02 per cent, while the Nashik division graduates seat logged the lowest polling at 49.28 per cent.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.