February 02, 2023 17:35 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Hockey Men's World Cup 2023: India beat Japan 8-0 in classification match | Amid row, Kerala Congress screens controversial BBC documentary on PM Modi in Thiruvananthapuram | Republic Day Parade to showcase India’s indigenous military prowess, cultural diversity | Mulayam Singh Yadav, Zakir Hussain conferred Padma Vibhushan award | Dilip Mahalanabis, who pioneered ORS use, to be awarded Padma Vibhushan
After winning, Congress MLAs to meet in Shimla tomorrow to decide Himachal Pradesh chief minister Congress
Image Credit: Facebook/INC Himachal Prasdesh

After winning, Congress MLAs to meet in Shimla tomorrow to decide Himachal Pradesh chief minister

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 08 Dec 2022, 09:49 pm

New Delhi/IBNS: After tasting success in Himachal Pradesh following a series of decimation in other states, the Congress has called a meeting of its MLAs in Shimla on Friday to decide the chief minister of the hill state.

The Congress has bagged 39 out of the 68 seats in the Himachal while BJP claimed 26 seats and others managed 3.

Himachal chief minister Jai Ram Thakur has tendered his resignation after the ECI declared Congress's victory. He attributed certain 'issues' to the change in the direction of results.

"I have handed over my resignation to the Governor. Will never stop working for the development of people. We need to analyse things. There were some issues that changed the direction of the results. I will go to Delhi if they call us," Himachal Pradesh CM Jairam Thakur.

The Congress is sending two observers -Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel and senior leader Bhupinder Hooda- to the meeting., said reports.

The Himachal poll results are not in contrast with the long-established pattern of alternate Congress and BJP governments since 1985.

In the last 37 years, the hill state has never voted a sitting government to power at a stretch. The anti-incumbency factor has always played its role, reflecting voters’ refusal to overlook the lapses committed by the sitting government.

Examples of this norm are the two most popular Chief Ministers of the state, Virbhadra Singh of the Congress and Prem Kumar Dhumal of the BJP, who despite their popularity failed to reverse the trend.

The voters remained unfazed and remained true to their nature even as Prime Minister Narendra Modi urged them to change their behaviour of changing governments just after one term.