April 16, 2024 18:37 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Delhi excise policy case: Arvind Kejriwal to remain in jail as Supreme Court turns down urgent hearing | Excise policy case: Delhi court extends BRS leader K Kavitha's judicial custody to April 23 | 'What else is Congress doing other than looting?': Kangana Ranaut in Himachal Pradesh | Iran could attack Israel sooner than later, warns US President Joe Biden | Amid unemployment, inflation issues, PM Modi's leadership likely to help his third consecutive term at govt: Survey
Arvind Kejriwal's AAP wins MCD polls, ends BJP's 15-year rule MCD Polls
Image Credit: UNI

Arvind Kejriwal's AAP wins MCD polls, ends BJP's 15-year rule

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 07 Dec 2022, 03:45 pm

New Delhi: Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal thanked people of the national capital as his Aam Aadmi Party is winning the Delhi civic poll (MCD), defeating the Bharatiya Janata Party which has been ruling it for the past several years.

According to the State Election Commission (SEC), the Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP has won 134 seats out of the 250 Wards.

The BJP, which left no stone unturned and was eyeing to retain power, won 104 seats, the data showed.

As per the poll panel, Congress bagged nine seats, followed by Independent three.

Elated over his party's performance, Delhi Chief Minister and AAP convenor Arvind Kejriwal while addressing the party workers, expressed his gratitude to the people of Delhi for reposing faith in AAP.

"I congratulate the people of Delhi for this big change. Today the people of Delhi gave me a big responsibility to make Delhi better and cleaner. I will fulfill their aspirations" he said.

Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia also expressed his gratitude to the people of Delhi and said, "Thanked them for trusting Aam Aadmi Party in Delhi MCD".

"For us, this is not just a victory, it is a big responsibility," he added. The polls for 250 wards in the national capital were held on December 4.

There were a total of 1,349 candidates in the fray and the voter turnout was around 50 per cent.

In 2017, BJP had won 181 of the (then) 270 municipal wards while AAP could secure only 48, and Congress finished third with 30.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.