May 24, 2024 00:28 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Thane fire update: 7 killed, 40 injured in explosion fire at chemical factory | 'Surrender or face my anger': HD Deve Gowda's stern warning to grandson Prajwal Revanna | Over 300 Indians, who were scammed into working as 'cyber slaves' in Cambodia, returns | Massive explosion at a factory in Thane, 20 evacuated | Mamata govt promoting Muslim League's agenda: BJP president JP Nadda after Calcutta HC's 'OBC quota' verdict
New names for Uddhav Thackeray, Eknath Shide Shiv Sena factions
Shiv Sena

New names for Uddhav Thackeray, Eknath Shide Shiv Sena factions

| @indiablooms | 10 Oct 2022, 10:40 pm

Mumbai: Ahead of the Andheri by-poll, the Uddhav Thackeray and Eknath Shinde factions of the Shiv Sena have found new names for their camps --- Shiv Sena Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray for Uddhav Thackeray group and  Balasahebanchi Shiv Sena (Balasaheb's Shiv Sena for the Eknath Shinde-led group, the Election Commission of India (ECI) has said today.

Shiv Sena Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray will use Mashaal (flaming torch) as its party symbol while Balasahebanchi Shiv Sena is yet to pick up one, the poll body said, adding that it has asked the latter to provide three fresh options by 10 am tomorrow.

ECI had earlier rejected the gada (blunt mace) and the trishul (trident), proposed by both factions, as they were religious symbols.

The Thackeray faction had provided three names and symbols. 'Shiv Sena Balasaheb Thackeray' was the first choice, 'Shiv Sena Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray' was the second pick, while 'Shiv Sena Balasaheb Prabodhankar Thackeray' was the third, sources in the Election Commission said, reported NDTV.

Uddhav Thackeray faction has expressed satisfaction over ECI allotting its first choice as the name for the camp.

Thackeray's close aide and former Maharashtra minister Bhaskar Jadhav said the group is happy as the ECI has allowed retaining three key names Uddhav ji, Balasaheb and Thackeray in the new name, the report said.

Shinde camp also expressed happiness over its new party name. "Finally the victory of the strong Hindutva views of Shiv Sena chief Balasaheb Thackeray. We are the inheritors of Balasaheb's thoughts..." tweeted Eknath Shinde.

Meanwhile,  Uddhav Thackeray has filed a writ petition to the Delhi High Court against ECI's Saturday order of freezing Shiv Sena's bow and arrow symbol as two factions asserted their claim over the "real" Shiv Sena and its founder Balasaheb Thackeray's legacy.

Uddhav Thackeray alleged that the party's name and symbol were frozen without a hearing, which he said went "against principles of natural justice".

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.