December 01, 2022 21:59 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
'Rahul Gandhi looks like Saddam Hussein': Himanta Biswa Sarma | 'By getting popularity, there will be few troubles': Actor Vijay Deverakonda after 9 hrs ED questioning | Massive protest outside Punjab CM's home over wages as Bhagwant Mann is visiting Gujarat for poll campaign | New Zealand clinch ODI series against India 1-0 as third match called off due to rain | Bilkis Bano challenges release of her rapists in Supreme Court
Setback for team Thackeray as SC refuses to stop EC from deciding 'real' Shiv Sena Sena battle
Image Credit: Eknath Shinde Twitter

Setback for team Thackeray as SC refuses to stop EC from deciding 'real' Shiv Sena

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 28 Sep 2022, 02:15 am

New Delhi/IBNS: In a huge setback for Uddhav Thackeray in his fight against aide-turned-rival and Maharashtra Chief Minister Eknath Shinde, the Supreme Court Tuesday refused to stop the Election Commission from deciding who represents the "real" Shiv Sena.

Creating history, the Supreme Court live-streamed the hearing of the Constitution Bench for the first time.

The apex court dismissed a petition filed by Uddhav Thackeray's faction to stop the Election Commission from deciding on the claim of the Eknath Shinde-led group over the "real" Shiv Sena and its symbol.

Shinde became the Chief Minister after a rebellion against his own government with the support of 40 odd MLAs, leading to the downfall of the Thackeray regime.

Thackeray had told the top court that the Election Commission cannot decide who the "real Shiv Sena" is until the court decides on the disqualification of the rebels.

If the MLAs are disqualified, they cannot be counted in the symbol dispute proceedings, team Thackeray said.

However, the bench, headed by Justice DY Chandrachud, said they are separate proceedings.

To decide on which faction is legitimate, the Election Commission usually assesses the number of elected MLAs, MPs and office bearers in support of each side.