December 04, 2022 04:46 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Bengal govt bans hookah bars in Kolkata citing adverse impact on public health | CBI summons KCR's daughter K Kavitha in Delhi liquor policy case | 'By Bengali I meant illegal Bangladeshi and Rohingya': Paresh Rawal issues apology amid row over comment | ISRO scientists Nambi Narayanan espionage: Supreme Court sets aside bail granted to 4 accused | Will continue fight for J&K’s Statehood, land, job rights: Ghulam Nabi Azad
PM Modi among 15 world leaders to attend SCO summit in Uzbekistan on Sept 15, 16 SCO | PM Modi
Image Credit: PIB

PM Modi among 15 world leaders to attend SCO summit in Uzbekistan on Sept 15, 16

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 11 Sep 2022, 08:10 pm

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi is among the 15 world leaders, including Russian President Vladimir Putin and Chinese President Xi Jinping, to attend the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) summit in Uzbekistan's Samarkand from September 15 to 16.

This will be the first summit post the Covid-19 pandemic where world leaders will be in physical attendance.

Two years ago, in June 2109, the leaders had last assembled in Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan for the SCO summit.

This summit gathers significance for India as it will attain the rotational presidency of SCO at the end of the Samarkand meet.

This means India will host the next SCO summit in 2023.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will reach Samarkand on September 14 and leave on September 16.

Reports said that Prime Minister Narendra Modi's visit will be closely watched for possibility of bilateral meetings on the sidelines of the summit.

Since leaders will be in the same room for the summit as well as the leaders’ lounge, bilateral meetings are thought to be likely but there has been no official word.

The Chinese side has refused to comment on a likely meet with India, saying that the disengagement of troops in the Gogra Ghat Hot Springs area in easter Ladakh was a positive developmet in easing the strained relationship between the two nations, said an India Today report.

SCO is an inter-governmental organisation founded in 2001. Its has eight members --- China, India, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Pakistan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.

Afghanistan, Belarus, Iran and Mongolia are Observers countries interested in acceding to full membership while six countries --- Armenia, Azerbaijan, Cambodia, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Turkey --- are its dialogue partners.