December 06, 2022 02:32 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
PM Modi chairs all-party meet over India's G20 presidency | 'Cocaine started coming into India': Nirmala Sitharaman warns officers, asks to up vigil | BJP to sweep Gujarat, faces tight fight with Congress in Himachal, AAP to win Delhi civic elections: Exit poll | FIFA World Cup 2022: England sail into quarterfinals with 3-0 win over Senegal | Supreme Court junks plea on Taj Mahal age
Gearing up for 2024 elections, BJP announces new roles for sacked CMs and central ministers BJP
Image Credit: BJP Twitter

Gearing up for 2024 elections, BJP announces new roles for sacked CMs and central ministers

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 09 Sep 2022, 08:27 pm

New Delhi/IBNS: With an eye on the 2024 national elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Friday announced new roles for its leaders, who were sacked as chief ministers and central ministers.

Former Gujarat Chief Minister Vijay Rupani, former Tripura Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb, and former Union Ministers Prakash Javadekar and Mahesh Sharma have all been assigned states as a part of the preparation for the election.

Vijay Rupani will be in charge of Punjab and Biplab Deb will take charge of Haryana.

Prakash Javadekar will look after Kerala, according to orders issued by party chief JP Nadda.

Bihar will be the responsibility of party general secretary Vinod Tawde, who was earlier in charge of Haryana.

Om Mathur, who is considered Prime Minister Narendra Modi's confidant, will take charge of Chhattisgarh besides his role in the Central Election Committee.

Chhattisgarh is a crucial state for the BJP as elections are due there next year and the saffron party is eyeing to unseat the Congress.

Former Bihar minister Mangal Pandey has been given charge of West Bengal, where the party is aggressively pursuing votes.

He will work with Sunil Bansal, who has been made the in-charge of Bengal and Telangana.

Most of these leaders held no party post and had been assigned responsibilities ahead of the 2024 elections.

Meanwhile, Laxmikant Vajpayee will take charge of Jharkhand and Mahesh Sharma will look after Tripura.

Sambit Patra, BJP's prominent TV face, will be the coordinator for the northeastern states. Party national secretary Rituraj Sinha will be joint coordinator.