October 05, 2022 14:18 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Congress leaders removed as parliamentary panel heads of home, IT | Encounter breaks out in Shopian soon after Amit Shah reaches Kashmir | PM Modi speaks to Volodymyr Zelenskiy as Ukraine battles Russian forces | Telangana CM KCR to launch National Party tomorrow | 'I am gutted but...': Jasprit Bumrah reacts to missing out from T20 World Cup
Nitish Kumar takes oath as Bihar CM for 8th time Bihar Politics
Image Credit: Screenshot grab from video

Nitish Kumar takes oath as Bihar CM for 8th time

IBNS | @indiablooms | 10 Aug 2022, 02:21 pm

Patna/IBNS: Janata Dal (United) chief Nitish Kumar took oath as the Bihar Chief Minister for the record eighth time Wednesday.

Nitish became the Chief Minister this time in an alliance with the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and Congress.

After taking the oath, Nitish said, "I left the NDA agreeing to the demands of my party people." 

"I am not a Prime Minister aspirant," he added. 

RJD top leader Tejashwi Yadav took oath as the Deputy Chief Minister.

This comes a day after Nitish dumped the ally Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), resigned as the Chief Minister and restitched the Grand Alliance, which he had left in 2017. 

"Mahagathbandhan (Grand Alliance) of seven parties, one Independent will work closely. We have 164 MLAs, who have all signed the letter of support," Nitish said after his second meeting with Governor Phagu Chauhan Tuesday.

BJP state unit president Sanjay Jaiswal Tuesday accused Nitish of having "backstabbed" the saffron outfit as well as the people's mandate of 2020.