August 14, 2022 09:00 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Sourav Ganguly to lead Indian team in 75th Independence special match. Know more | MS Dhoni has to retire first to participate in overseas league: BCCI | Congress president Sonia Gandhi tests Covid-19 positive again | India at 75: Amit Shah hoists tricolour at home | Jammu and Kashmir govt sacks Salah-ud-Din's son, Bitta Karate's wife, two others over terror links
Vice Prez poll between Jagdeep Dhankhar and Margaret Alva underway VP Polls
(From L to R) Jagdeep Dhankhar, Narendra Modi and Margaret Alva | Image Credit: Twitter/Jagdeep Dhankhar/Margaret Alva and UNI

Vice Prez poll between Jagdeep Dhankhar and Margaret Alva underway

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 06 Aug 2022, 01:44 pm

New Delhi/UNI: Voting to elect the new Vice President of India got underway Saturday in Parliament House.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi was among the first to cast his vote.

Ruling NDA's Jagdeep Dhankhar is taking on Opposition candidate Margaret Alva in the election.

The voting by MPs of both the Houses started at 10 am and will continue till 5 pm.

The counting of votes will take place later in the day.

The election is held in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote.

The voting is held through a secret ballot.

The BJP alone has 394 of 780 total votes in the electoral college of Vice President which places Dhankhar in a comfortable position against his rival Alva.

Lack of unity among opposition partners has further hurt Alva's prospects as Mamata Banerjee led TMC has announced to abstain from voting in the polls. The AITC has 36 MPs in both Houses of Parliament.

Andhra Pradesh's ruling YSRCP, Mayawati's BSP and Naveen Patnaik’s BJD have once again announced support to the NDA candidate.

Dhankhar, a former West Bengal Governor, attended a meeting with the BJP MPs in Delhi where the preparations ahead of voting were made.

"MPs fight great electoral battles to gain entry to the Temple of Democracy - our Parliament. Each of them is a hero, worthy of our respect. Each a unique voice that deserves to be heard. I believe when these powerful voices are given expression, great things can be achieved," Alva said in a tweet.

The next Vice President will take oath on Aug 14, a day after incumbent M.Venkaiah Naidu's term expires.

As per the rule, an election to fill a vacancy caused by the expiry of the term of office of the Vice President should be completed before the expiry of the term of the incumbent Vice President.

The Vice President is mandated by the Constitution to act as the Chairperson of the Rajya Sabha, which is the upper house of Parliament.