April 14, 2024 16:09 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
'What else is Congress doing other than looting?': Kangana Ranaut in Himachal Pradesh | Iran could attack Israel sooner than later, warns US President Joe Biden | Amid unemployment, inflation issues, PM Modi's leadership likely to help his third consecutive term at govt: Survey | AAP to support INDIA bloc 'unconditionally' in UP for Lok Sabha election | Amid threats from Iran, Israel launches massive strike on Gaza
Babul Supriyo, 8 others join Mamata Banerjee's team of cabinet ministers Babul Supriyo
Image: Babul Supriyo Twitter page

Babul Supriyo, 8 others join Mamata Banerjee's team of cabinet ministers

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 03 Aug 2022, 05:14 pm

Kolkata: West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Wednesday expanded the state cabinet for the first time since the Trinamool Congress returned to power for the third straight time in 2021.

The new ministers are Babul Supriyo, Partha Bhowmick, Snehasis Chakraborty, Udayan Guha, Tajmool Hossain, Pradip Majumder, Satyajit Barman, Biplab Ray Chowdhury and Birbaha Hansda.

Acting Governor La Ganesan administered the oath of office to the newly inducted ministers.

Ministers in-charge were Babul Supriyo, Udyan Guha, Pradip Majumder, Snehashish Chakraborty and Partha Bhowmik.

Minister of State (Independent Charge) were Birbaha Hansda and Biplab Ray Chowdhury.

Barring Hansda, who was earlier Minister of State, all were new faces.

Ministers of State were Tajmool Hossain and Satyajit Barman.

Banerjee earlier said several departments were currently functioning without any dedicated minister due to which the reshuffle was necessary.

Former Ministers Subrata Mukherjee and Sadhan Pandey passed away, leaving a gap in the political scenario of the state.

The cabinet reshuffle occured at a time when Education Minister Partha Chatterjee was recently arrested by the Enforcement Directorate for his alleged involvement in SSC Scam.

Supriyo is the key face in the new team.

Supriyo is a former Union Minister.

He was a BJP MP.

He quit BJP and joined the TMC later.

He is an MLA from the politically crucial Ballygunge assembly constituency in Kolkata.

(With UNI inputs)

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.