October 01, 2022 03:40 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
PM Modi flags off new Gandhinagar-Mumbai Vande Bharat Express | https://www.indiablooms.com/news-details/N/84576/congress-presidential-elections-mallikarjun-kharge-joins-race-digvijaya-singh-backs-out.html | RBI increases repo rate by 50 basis points | Mallikarjun Kharge set to contest Congress presidential elections | US visa wait time for New Delhi 2 years, just 2 days for Beijing
Team Uddhav Thackeray appoints new Chief Whip to Lok Sabha Uddhav Thackeray

Team Uddhav Thackeray appoints new Chief Whip to Lok Sabha

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 06 Jul 2022, 10:04 pm

New Delhi/IBNS: The Uddhav Thackeray team of Shiv Sena, reduced to a minority in the Maharashtra assembly, has appointed a new Chief Whip for the Lok Sabha, amid fear of revolt by party MPs.

Senior party leader Sanjay Raut wrote a letter to the Lok Sabha Speaker Wednesday and informed him that Rajan Vichare has been appointed the Chief Whip, replacing Bhawna Gawli.

Following a revolt by Eknath Shinde last month, Uddhav Thackeray lost 40 of his 55 MLAs and subsequently, power in the state.

Last week, he stepped down from the post of Chief Minister.

A day later, Shinde took oath as the chief minister of Maharashtra after the faction officially joined hands with the BJP and staked claim to form a government, which sailed through the majority test in the assembly on Monday.

In the majority test in the assembly held earlier this week, the Eknath Shinde camp received 164 votes in the 288-member assembly, passing easily the majority mark of 144. Only 99 MLAs voted against it.

The new alliance has already picked a Speaker and a Chief Whip in Maharashtra Assembly.

They have also appealed to disqualify MLAs from Team Thackeray for defying the Whip during the trust vote in the assembly.