August 10, 2022 13:48 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
West Bengal: 9 dead in govt bus-autorickshaw collision in Birbhum | BJP only knows to divide people: Tejashwi Yadav with Nitish Kumar as they stake claim to form Bihar govt | Nitish Kumar to take oath as CM of Grand Alliance tomorrow, Tejashwi Yadav as deputy | Split between Nitish Kumar's JD(U) and BJP on cards? Decision tomorrow | India's badmin icon PV Sindhu clinches maiden CWG women singles gold
Mamata Banerjee calls opposition meeting to form strategy ahead of presidential polls Presidential Elections

Mamata Banerjee calls opposition meeting to form strategy ahead of presidential polls

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 11 Jun 2022, 09:22 pm

Kolkata: West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee has written a letter to opposition parties, requesting them to attend a meeting, called by her on June 15 in New Delhi, to design a joint strategy for the presidential polls. 

"Our hon'ble chairperson @MamataOfficial calls upon all progressive opposition forces to meet and deliberate on the future course of action keeping the Presidential elections in sight, at the Constitution Club, New Delhi on June 15 2022 at 3 PM," Banerjee's Trinamool Congress said.

In a statement, TMC said Mamata Banerjee has reached out to the opposition for a "strong and effective" opposition against the divisive forces in view of the Presidential election.

"With the Presidential election around the corner, Hon'ble Chief Minister of West Bengal Mamata Banerjee, with an initiative of strong and effective opposition against the divisive forces, has reached out to the opposition Chief Ministers and leaders to participate in a joint meeting," the party statement said.

The polls for electing India's 15th president will be held on July 18 and the results will be declared on July 21, the Election Commission announced Thursday.

The elections will be held as President Ram Nath Kovind's tenure ends on July 24, 2022. He was elected in 2017.