May 22, 2024 13:28 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Supreme Court rejects batch of pleas seeking review of Article 370 verdict | Pune Porsche crash: 'How can juvenile board give such order', asks Devendra Fadnavis promising strict action | IndiGo plane returns to airport after passenger found standing on overbooked Varanasi flight | Delhi High Court denies bail to Manish Sisodia in all cases linked to alleged excise scam | Police making 'watertight case' against Pune teen over Porsche accident that killed 2
Bengal bypolls: TMC leads in both Ballygunge and Asansol
Bengal Politics

Bengal bypolls: TMC leads in both Ballygunge and Asansol

| @indiablooms | 16 Apr 2022, 10:52 am

Kolkata/IBNS: West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee's Trinamool Congress (TMC) has taken a lead in both Ballygunge assembly constituency and Asansol Lok Sabha seat, where byelections were held on Apr 12.

TMC candidate Babul Supriyo, a turncoat, is ahead of his nearest rival CPI-M's Saira Shah Halim by 8,109 votes at the end of the eighth round of vote counting.

BJP's Keya Ghosh is lagging behind in the fourth position.

The seat was left vacant after the demise of TMC veteran and West Bengal Minister Subrata Mukherjee.

In Asansol, TMC candidate and veteran actor Shatrughan Sinha is leading by around 17,000 votes at the end of the second round.

Sinha is ahead of his nearest candidate from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Agnimitra Paul.

The Asansol Lok Sabha constituency fell vacant after the resignation of Union Minister Babul Supriyo who jumped from the BJP to TMC last year. 

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.