May 18, 2024 13:33 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Swati Maliwal assault case: Arvind Kejriwal's aide Bibhav Kumar arrested by Delhi Police | DK Shivakumar offered me Rs. 100 crore to defame Modi: Arrested BJP leader G Devaraje Gowda on Karnataka sex scandal | Swati Maliwal assault case: New video shows AAP MP escorted out of Arvind Kejriwal's home | Congress LS candidate Kanhaiya Kumar assaulted during election campaign in Delhi | Taj Mahal gets competition as new white marble wonder Soami Bagh opens in Agra
Pramod Sawant swears in as Goa CM for second term Goa Politics
Image Credit: Twitter/BJP Goa

Pramod Sawant swears in as Goa CM for second term

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 28 Mar 2022, 01:28 pm

Panaji/IBNS/UNI: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Pramod Sawant on Monday took oath as Goa Chief Minister for the second term at Dr Shyama Prasad Mukherjee Stadium near here.

Eight other BJP MLAs were also sworn in as ministers of his cabinet.

They included Vishwajit Rane, Mauvin Godinho, Ravi Naik, Nilesh Cabral, Subhash Shirodkar, Rohan Khaunte, Govidn Gaude and Atanasio Monserrate.

The swearing-in ceremony was attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Minister for Road Transport Nitin Gadkari, BJP national president JP Nadda, Himachal Pradesh Governor Rajendra Arlekar, Assam CM Himanta Biswa Sarma and Haryana CM Mohan Lal Khattar among others.

Sawant, who represents Sanquelim constituency in the state assembly, had succeeded then-Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar in 2019 after his demise.

Sawant was elected as an MLA from Sanquelim constituency for the consecutively third term this year.

He defeated Dharmesh Saglani of Congress.

The event was held at Dr Shyama Prasad Mukherjee Stadium at Taleigao.

This was the second time that the swearing-in of a CM was held outside the Raj Bhavan.

Earlier, Manohar Parrikar was sworn-in as CM outside the Raj Bhavan in 2012.

The BJP came to power in the state consecutively for the third term.

After winning 20 out of the 40 seats, the BJP, which required one more to get the majority, was supported by three independents and Trinamool Congress' estranged ally Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP), which has two MLAs.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.