June 28, 2022 18:54 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
PM Narendra Modi arrives in Abu Dhabi, UAE President Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan welcomes him | Uddhav Thackeray wanted to quit but was stopped twice by senior alliance leader: Reports | Assam floods: Aamir Khan donates Rs. 25 lakhs to CM relief fund | Delhi Police arrest AltNews journalist Mohammed Zubair for allegedly hurting religious sentiments | Shiv Sena rebels get reprieve over disqualification notices from Supreme Court till July 12: All updates
UP polls: BJP fields Union Minister SP Singh Baghel against Akhilesh Yadav from Karhal UP polls

UP polls: BJP fields Union Minister SP Singh Baghel against Akhilesh Yadav from Karhal

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 31 Jan 2022, 11:23 pm

New Delhi/IBNS: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has fielded Union Minister SP Singh Baghel against Samajwadi Party President Akhilesh Yadav from Karhal seat in Mainpuri district of Uttar Pradesh for the upcoming assembly election.

SP Singh Baghel, the BJP MP from Agra, was once close to the Samajwadi Party leader's father Mulayam Singh Yadav.

Akhilesh Yadav filed his nomination paper Monday before the district magistrate and returning officer Avinash Krishna Singh.

After filing his nomination, Yadav declared, "Whoever is chosen as the BJP candidate from Karhal will lose."

He alleged that the BJP was not willing to speak on basic issues.

"In the days to come the SP has said that it will implement old pension system and the BJP has no answer to it. By violating the model code of conduct, the Uttar Pradesh Chief Secretary is trying to tell what is the difference between the new and old pension system," the SP chief said.

Baghel had earlier fought an election against Akhilesh Yadav's wife Dimple Yadav and lost.

He is the Minister of State for Law and Justice.

Karhal seat has been won by the SP since 1993 after the party came into existence in 1992, except in 2002 when the sitting MLA Sobaran Singh Yadav contested on a BJP ticket.

Thereafter, Sobaran Singh joined the Samajwadi Party and won the elections three times consecutively.