May 20, 2022 10:25 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Massive fire breaks out in a forest near Jammu | Undefeated German champion boxer Musa Yamak dies of heart attack during match | Gyanvapi mosque row: Report of videography, meant for court, made public | PM Modi to participate in Quad Leaders' Summit in Tokyo on May 24 | Prices of LPG hiked
AAP stuns BJP in Chandigarh civic polls, wins 14 of 35 seats Chandigarh MC Polls
Image Credit: Facebook/Arvind Kejriwal

AAP stuns BJP in Chandigarh civic polls, wins 14 of 35 seats

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 27 Dec 2021, 05:51 pm

In a major boost ahead of the crucial assembly elections in Punjab early next year, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) pulled off a stunning edge over the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the Chandigarh civic polls, the results of which were declared on Monday.

The AAP, led by Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, won 14 of 35 seats, overtaking the BJP whose tally went down from 20 (the total number of seats was 26 in 2016) to 14.

The Congress, which took a bold step of appointing first Dalit Chief Minister in Punjab, could win eight seats leaving one for the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD).

In an even more setback for the saffron camp, BJP's Mayor Ravikant Sharma has been defeated by AAP's Damanpreet Singh.

However, the AAP still needs five more corporators to have its Mayor while the BJP is six short of the majority number (19) as the city MP, who has a vote, belongs to the saffron party.

Traditionally, the BJP and Congress lock horns in the Municipal Corporation elections but this time, the AAP, which is campaigning hard for the upcoming Punjab elections, had joined the race.

Being elated over his party's performance, Kejriwal tweeted, "This victory of Aam Aadmi Party in Chandigarh Municipal Corporation is a sign of the change coming in Punjab. People of Chandigarh today have chosen honest politics of AAP, rejecting corrupt politics.

"Many congratulations to all the winning candidates and workers of AAP. This time Punjab is ready for change."