May 26, 2022 19:57 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
10 held for stone-pelting outside Yasin Malik's residence | CBI questioning of Karti Chidambaram underway in cash-for-visa scam | Vinai Saxena takes oath as Delhi LG | Bengali actor Bidisha De Majumder found dead at Kolkata apartment, investigation on | Kashmir: 3 LeT militants killed in Kupwara
Meghalaya: Garo Council Congress members join TMC Meghalaya
Image Credit: Facebook/AITC

Meghalaya: Garo Council Congress members join TMC

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 10 Dec 2021, 01:53 pm

Shillong/UNI: Amidst the ongoing political upheaval in Meghalaya, all the 11 elected Congress members of the Garo Hills Autonomous District Council (GHADC) left the party to join ranks with the Trinamool Congress (TMC) on Thursday.

They joined the TMC following the footsteps of former Chief Minister, Dr. Mukul Sangma, who had recently led 11 other Congress MLAs to merge with the Mamata Banerjee-led party.

The MDCs (Members of District Council) ceremoniously left the opposition Congress in the GHADC to go into the folds of the TMC at a public meeting at Resubelpara in North Garo Hills district today.

The MDCs who publicly shifted political allegiance included Cherak W Momin, Sonjoy Koch, Stevie M Marak , Agassi R Marak, Habibuz Zaman, Lahitson M Sangma, Nehru D Sangma, Sadhiarani M Sangma, Alphonsus R Marak, Rinaldo K Sangma and Ferdinand Shira.

“A very special day for us as 11 MDCs join our family in Resubelpara, North Garo Hills. We warmly welcome each and everyone! Under the leadership of @MamataOfficial , we will dedicatedly ensure that our state keeps scaling greater heights”, AITC Meghalaya tweeted.